Pasteryak Wins at Seekonk Again
Hurricane Chris Rolls Into Massachusetts Track
While New England focused on “Hurricane Bill,” True Value Modified Racing Series competitors' were forced to focus  on “Hurricane” Chris Saturday night, August 22, as defending series champion Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT;  wheeled the Dawley's Collision and Custom #15CT modified to victory winning the “Del's Lemonade 100,” at the Seekonk Speedway, Seekonk, MA.

The victory was the second generation drivers first TVMRS win this season, his second series win at Seekonk, and the second time he has won this year at the Rte 6 oval. He captured the tracks annual $10,000 to win race in July, a non-sanctioned TVMRS race.
It was also his third career win with New England's premier modified racing series. 

Pasteryak went by pole sitter and series point leader Jon McKennedy. Chelmsford, MA; on the third lap, setting the pace until lap 12, when his uncle Carl Pasteryak, Lisbon, took over the top spot. With his nephew in tow, Carl set a torrid pace until lap 44 when the first caution flag was surprisingly displayed for, the race leader. “Uncle” Carl spun into the infield leaving his nephew the lead

When the race resumed, Chris Pasteryak became the class of the field leading the rest of the way to score the win. The victory was not easy for the newly married driver. Pasteryak was pressured by McKennedy from lap 45 through 52, and then by Les Hinckley, Windsor Locks, CT; laps 53 to 100. Hinckley made several attempts to take over the lead often pulling right up to the leader and alongside but the 2008 title holder was equal to the task

Hinckley's crowd pleasing effort produced a strong finish. He fought off the challenges of Mike Holdridge, Madison, CT; and then Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, PA.; down to the final lap. Holdridge settled for fourth, with Steven Masse, Bellingham. MA; turning in a solid run rounding out the top five.

Sixth though tenth were, Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT; Jack Bateman, Canaan, NH; Kevin Iannarelli, Maynard, MA; Dave Berghman, Rehoboth, MA; and Mike Douglas Jr. Auburn, NH.

The race was slowed by four caution flags on laps 44, 62, and two on 86, all for minor incidents

The best lap time during the race was turned by Carl Pasteryak at 12.226 for a speed of 98.053 around the one-third mile oval. The margin of victory was 0.682. The race was completed in 40 minutes 17 seconds.

24 race teams entered the event with 15 of the original 22 starters finishing on the lead lap. 18 cars finished the race.
Next event: Town Fair Tire 75  Thompson CT Thursday August 27, 2009

Race Summary: Race # 11
August 22, 2009
Seekonk Speedway Seekonk, MA
Distance: 100 laps

Time of Race: 40:17:403
Margin of Victory: 0.682
Lap Leaders: McKennedy (1-2) Chris Pasteryak (3-12)
Carl Pasteryak (13-44) Chris Pasteryak (45-100
Cautions Flags: (4) Laps 44,62,86,86

Order of Finish: (1) Chris Pasteryak (2) Hinckley (3) Pennink (4) Holdridge (5) Masse (6) Jarvis (7) Bateman (8) Iannarelli (9) Berghman (10) Douglas (11) Bodreau (12) McKennedy (13) Spiers (14) Goodenough (15) Fredrickson (16) Dore (17) V.Annarummo (18) R. Perry (19) Carl Pasteryak (20) S.Perry (21) T Annarummo (22) Kuhn

Chris Pasteryak's winning #15.  (Rick Ibsen Photo)
Rowan Pennink finished second.  (Jim Dupont Photo)
Point leader Jon McKennedy had a rough night.   (Jim Dupont Photo)
Chris Pasteryak in victory lane.  (Rick Ibsen Photo)