Blewett and Sesely Pocket Big Cash in Comerford Memorial
Wall Modified Races Are Held on Sunday Afternoon
Track PR Report
Jimmy Blewett of Howell and Anthony Sesely of Matawan each pocketed an unprecedented $6,600 for winning 66-lap tour type Modified feature races during the “Tommy Comerford Memorial” Sunday afternoon at Wall Stadium. Riches were also spread through each 24-car field as a total purse of $40,000 was offered.

In the opening 66-lapper, Les Hinckley of Windsor Locks, Conn. and Tommy Farrell of Neptune wrestled for the lead early swapping the top spot on restarts while Blewett ducked into the pit area several times for adjustments on his No. 66 Comerford tribute car. Tim Arre of Toms River and Danny Bohn of Huntersville, N.C. also got into the lead battle later on as Blewett marched to the front.

The turning point in the race came with just 12 laps to go when Hinckley and Bohn pushed high in turn two while battling for the lead and Blewett dove low to take the lead and eventual win. Matt Hirschman of Northampton, Pa. also raced through the hole to grab second, while Keith Rocco of Wallingford, Conn., Hinckley and Ray Evernham of Huntersville, N.C. wrapped up the top five.

In the second tour Modified 66-lapper, Sesely and Justin Gumley of Colts Neck fought for the lead in the early going. Soon Earl Paules of Palmerton, Pa. took his turn at the front before Sesely took command for good. Hirschman had a great day as he raced to his second straight runner-up finish, while Rocco grabbed his second straight third place run. Gumley and Paules wrapped up the top five.

In support division action Kevin Davison of Howell was the class of the field in Calabreeze Pools Sportsman division action as he swept a pair of 25-lappers. In the first race, rain postponed from September 26, Kevin Eyres of Colts Neck nailed down the 2009 driving title by finishing second, while Mike Smith of Wall, Andrew Krause of East Brunswick and Randy MacConnell of Toms River were third through fifth. In the second race, Smith chased Davison across the finish line, with Matt Przemielewski Toms River, Ken Green of Farmingdale and Tom Kearns of Howell wrapping up the top five.

Jon Meyer of Toms River also had a great day sweeping a pair of 20-lappers for the Flanagan Retail Development Factory Stocks. In the first race, Howell’s Elliott Wohl actually crossed the finish line first, but when his car failed a post race inspection the win went to Meyer. Flemington’s Tom Fratesi was the runner-up, with Bryan Flanagan of Hazlet, Steve Lynch of Aberdeen and Tim Flanagan of Hazlet third through fifth. Former champ Rob Longo of Wall was the runner-up in the second race, while Roy Farfel of Wall, Union’s Joey Helberg and Joe Constandi of Flemington were third through fifth.

Carl Thomas of Tinton Falls nailed down the 2009 Street Stock championship by winning the rain postponed 25-lap feature. Ralph Gargiulo of Allenwood was second, with Jackson’s Howie Conk third. Conk came back to win the nightcap over Thomas and Beachwood’s Bill Vanderveen.

Zach Alspach of Willingboro made a trip back from New Mexico, where he attends college, worthwhile by winning the 25-lapper for the Legend Cars. Brian Spencer, Derek Hopkinson of Toms River, Kenny Van Wickle and Bobby Baltera completed the top five.

The next event on the Wall Stadium schedule is set for this Sunday (Nov. 8) when a $5 Family Fun Day is on the agenda. The events, which feature Enduro, Legend Cars and 4C SuperModified racing, were started earlier this season to the overwhelming approval of budget minded auto racing fans. Tickets for fans age 13 and up are just $5, while those age 12 and under are admitted free. Action is slated to start at 2:00 p.m.