Grassroots 51: Zacharias Wins Shangri-La II 100 Lapper
Mightly Modifieds Put on a Show in New York
By Tracy Chirico
A total of 19 Mighty Modifieds took to the _-mile concrete oval at Shangri-La II in New York as part of the speedway's “Labor Day on Fire” program this past Sunday, and when the checkered flag waved on the 100-lap event, Jimmy Zacharias found himself in Victory Lane. Zacharias, who had started in the third spot, took the lead on lap 77 and never looked back.

Polesitter Pete Brittain led early in the event, but he was passed by Rick Zacharias for the top spot on a lap 35 restart. R. Zacharias led until lap 66, when Jim Storace inherited the position. No one could get past J. Zacharias, however, after he came to the point on lap 77. It looked as though Storace might have something for the race leader late in the race, but Storace suddenly fell of the pace with five laps remaining in the event.

Daren Scherer and Andy Walko chased J. Zacharias to the finish line. Brittain and Ken Canestrari rounded out the top five.

Mighty Modified Feature Finish (100 laps): 1. Jimmy Zacharias, 2. Daren Scherer, 3. Andy Walko, 4. Pete Brittain, 5. Ken Canestrari, 6. Rusty Smith, 7. Bill Weichert, 8. John Markovic, 9. Richard Coyle, 10. Jim Storace, 11. Dell Boyle, 12. Marc Rogers, 13. Dean Rypkema, 14. Rick Zacharias, 15. Matt Clemens, 16. Mike Nickels, 17. Rick Savage, 18. Dean Gulick, 19. Chris Zacharias. DNS - Dave Silvernail.