Mayhew Dominates Iowa CW West Series Race
Transporter Troubles Become a Faint Memory in Victory Lane
David Mayhew dominated the NASCAR Camping World Series West competition at Iowa Speedway on Friday night en route to winning the Central Iowa Building and Construction Trades 125.

The biggest challenge for David Mayhew and his team appeared to be just getting to the track, as their transporter carrying the race car and equipment encountered a couple of mechanical problems on the way to Iowa.

Once the car and equipment finally arrived, after the first practice session had been completed, Mayhew and his team went to work. He was fifth quickest in the final practice session and then qualified his No. 17 MMI Services/Ron’s Rear Ends/KHI Chevrolet third fastest.

When Coors Light Pole winner Greg Pursley had to drop to the rear of the pack for the start of the race, due to an engine change earlier in the day, it moved Mayhew up to start on the pole and from there he never looked back.

Mayhew, who was the top finishing West Coast driver in the NASCAR Camping World Series East-West combination race at Iowa Speedway in May, built a lead of more than 10 seconds in the first half of the race. He saw his margin erased on three occasions by yellow flags, but was able to charge back out front after each restart.

“The day started off a little shaky, with our truck not making it here in time for the first practice,” Mayhew said. “We had all kinds of trouble getting to the track. As soon as we put the car on the track, the car was awesome. All the guys at the shop did a great job of prepping everything. We qualified third, in our 10th lap on the track all day and then got lucky with a move to the front row, with Greg moving to the back.”

Mayhew credited some advice from Kevin Harvick Incorporated, which his team has an association with, for providing him with such a fast car. “We had some good tips from KHI right before qualifying to try a few things with the car,” he said. “That brought the car to life. It was really fast. I just can’t thank the guys enough – Ron’s Rear Ends, MMI, Kevin Harvick and KHI. The car was pretty easy to drive. You couldn’t ask for an easier race for us.”

Once out front, Mayhew said he did not have many worries – as his spotter kept him posted on his lap times. “We were two or three tenths quicker than everybody most of the time,” he said. “On that last restart, I got a lot of stuff on my tires and got loose a few times, but once all the speedy dry out of Turn 4 dried up, then the car came right back to us.”

Mayhew crossed the finish line with a margin of victory of 2.288 seconds, to net $9,550 in prize money and posted awards. The 27-year-old Atascadero, Calif., driver also earned a secured spot in January's postseason NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown at Toyota Speedway in Irwindale, Calif. 

While Mayhew was setting the pace out front, there was plenty of action throughout the pack with three-wide racing at times around the .875-mile oval.

Jason Bowles, who led the championship standings coming into the event, moved from fourth on the grid up to second place early in the race. Although he managed to momentarily get the nose of his No. 6 Sunrise Ford out front on a late-race restart and gain five bonus points for leading a lap, he was not able to stay with Mayhew and settled for a second-place finish.

Sixteen-year-old Max Gresham of Griffin, Ga., and Iowa fan-favorite 17-year-old Brett Moffitt of nearby Grimes put on a great battle in the closing stages en route to finishing third and fourth, respectively. Jeff Barkshire of Auburn, Wash., came home fifth. Rounding out the top 10 were Ryan Gifford, Greg Pursley, Brian Ickler, Brett Thompson and Eric Holmes.

With his second-place finish, Bowles of Ontario, Calif., was able to expand his lead in the point standings to 78 points over Holmes – 1,998 to 1,920 – with one race remaining to decide the 2009 series championship. Pursley is third with 1,813, followed by Mayhew with 1,799 and Paulie Harraka with 1,761. Completing the top 10 in points are Thompson at 1,655, Moses Smith at 1,611, Blake Koch at 1,605, Jim Warn at 1,444 and Jamie Dick at 1,299.

In this year’s great battle for the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award, meanwhile, Harraka has pulled ahead of Koch – 112 to 110. Gomez is third at 53, trailed by Bow Carpenter with eight.

The NASCAR Camping World Series West will wrap up its 2009 season with the Coparts 150 at All American Speedway in Roseville, Calif., on Sept. 26.

At Iowa Speedway
Newton, IA
Lap length: 0.875 miles
(Start position in parentheses)

1. (3) David Mayhew, Atascadero, Calif., Chevrolet, 125 laps, 95.017 mph, $9,550.
2. (4) Jason Bowles, Ontario, Calif., Ford, 125, $3,800.
3. (5) Max Gresham, Griffin, Ca., Toyota, 125, $2,800.
4. (11) Brett Moffitt, Grimes, Iowa, Chevrolet, 125, $4,000.
5. (6) Jeff Barkshire, Auburn, Wash., Dodge, 125, $2,250.
6. (7) Ryan Gifford, Winchester, Tenn., Chevrolet, 125, $2,200.
7. (1) Greg Pursley, Newhall, Calif., Chevrolet, 125, $4,100.
8. (8) Brian Ickler, San Diego, Calif., Toyota, 125, $2,000.
9. (2) Brett Thompson, Jerome, Idaho, Chevrolet, 125, $2,400.
10. (10) Eric Holmes, Escalon, Calif., Toyota, 125, $2,950.
11. (9) Jonathon Gomez, Twin Falls, Idaho, Chevrolet, 125, $2,125.
12. (15) Paulie Harraka, Fairlawn, N.J., Toyota, 125, $2,250.
13. (14) Chris Johnson, Claremont, Calif., Chevrolet, 125, $2,200.
14. (16) Brian Wong, Newport Beach, Calif., Toyota, 125, $2,150.
15. (12) Patrick Long, Thousand Oaks, Calif., Dodge, 125, $1,600.
16. (21) Kristin Bumbera, Sealy, Texas, Chevrolet, 125, $1,550.
17. (20) Jim Warn, Aurora, Ore, Chevrolet, 125, $2,000.
18. (22) Jarit Johnson, El Cajon, Calif., Chevrolet, 125, $1,475.
19. (19) Jeff Anton, Russell, Mass., Chevrolet, 124, $1,450.
20. (18) Blake Koch, West Palm Beach, Fla., Chevrolet, 124, $1,925.
21. (23) Jamie Dick, Albuquerque, N.M., Chevrolet, 124, $1,900.
22. (17) Travis Bennett, Ellensburg, Wash., Chevrolet, 123, $1,375.
23. (24) Daryl Harr, St Albert, Alberta, Chevrolet, 121, $1,850.
24. (27) Jack Sellers, Sacramento, Calif., Chevrolet, 117, $1,825.
25. (26) Billy Kann, Mesa, Ariz., Chevrolet, 115, $1,300.
26. (13) Moses Smith, Tempe, Ariz., Toyota, 103, $1,775.
27. (25) Phil Dugan, Meridian, Idaho, Chevrolet, 87, accident, $1,750.

Race Statistics
Time of Race: 1 hour 9 minutes 4 seconds
Margin of Victory: 2.288 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: G.Pursley (130.847 mph, 24.074 seconds)
Caution Flags: 3 for 15 laps.
Lead Changes: 2 among 2 drivers.
Lap Leaders: D. Mayhew 1-96; J. Bowles 97; D. Mayhew 98-125.
Standings: 1. J. Bowles, 1998; 2. E. Holmes, 1920; 3. G. Pursley, 1813; 4. D. Mayhew, 1799; 5. P. Harraka, 1761; 6. B. Thompson, 1655; 7. M. Smith, 1611; 8. B. Koch, 1605; 9. J. Warn, 1444; 10. J. Dick, 1299.

David Mayhew charges past Blake Koch during action at Iowa Speedway. (David Purdy/Getty Images for NASCAR Photos)
David Mayhew in victory lane.