SpeedFest 2010 at Lanier National Speedway Returns on Traditional Weekend
CRA Super Series & GAS Asphalt Series to Highlight Weekend
CRA PR Report
Officials from Champion Racing Association (CRA) Super Series, the Georgia Asphalt Series (GAS) and Lanier National Speedway announced today that “SpeedFest 2010” will take place again at Lanier National Speedway on January 29, 30 and 31st, 2010. The event is held each year on the weekend before the Super Bowl.  The traditional season opening North-South Super Late Model battle began six years ago at the now closed USA International Speedway in Florida.  With USA International Speedway’s closure, teams and fans were looking for a new home for the event and found it last season at Lanier National Speedway just northeast of Atlanta, Georgia.

The event will see the Super Late Models compete in a 250-lap event for a chance at a $10,000 payday. The GAS Series Pro Late Models will have a 150-lap event for $3000 to win. As was the case last year, there will be a $10,000 bonus if a driver can win both events!

“It’s possible for one guy to win over $23,000 at this event,” said R.J. Scott, Managing Partner of the CRA Super Series.  “It’s $3,000 to win the GAS race.  It’s $10,000 to win the CRA race if you lead at halfway and win the race.  Then, winning both, you get another $10,000, so it could be very big payday for one person.”

“I believe SpeedFest has found a great home,” noted Lanier National Speedway General Manager Terry Roberts.  “We’re honored that our facility will host the top Super and Pro Late Model teams in the country in this traditional battle of North and South drivers again in 2010.  Some where concerned about moving the Super Late Model event to a slightly smaller track but it made for great competition and more importantly...we never rolled a wrecker in the 200 lap feature last year!”

The Super Late Model event will be under the direction of CRA’s staff, while the GAS Series officials will direct the Pro-Late Model activities. While these sanctioning bodies will direct the on-track activities, officials want to be very clear that this is an “open” event.  “We welcome teams from all over the country and different organizations to be part of this weekend,” commented CRA managing partner Glenn Luckett.  “With special events like this, we try to be very accommodating to racers from all different series, both in equalizing the rules and our general ‘All Are Welcome’ demeanor.”

NASCAR Star Kyle Busch put his name in the record books as the winner of SpeedFest 2009 fighting off the hard-charging Jason Hogan to get his first ever CRA victory. Johanna Long finished third, Scott Hantz was fourth with Michael Pope in fifth place. Casey Roderick looked like the car to beat after leading the first 100 laps from his pole starting position, but after restarting fourth for the second half and working his way to the front, Roderick’s transmission broke on lap 176 ending his day and an opportunity to race with Busch for the win. Past event winners include Charlie Menard in 2005, Mike Fritts in 2006, Eddie Hoffman in 2007 and Jeff Choquette in 2008.

The CRA portion of the event will be 250 laps for the 2010 event. There will be a break at lap 125 for teams to work on their cars and change tires. It will be an eight tire event. The leader at lap 125 will receive a $2000 bonus, the second place driver $1000, third place will receive $750, fourth place $500 and fifth place $250. The halfway leader will then draw for an invert for the start of the second half, the invert could be a three to a possible six. The winner of the event will receive $8000.

The GAS portion of the event will be 150 laps in 2010.  Greg Simpson won the GAS Pro Late Model 100 portion of SpeedFest last year after a furious battle in the closing laps.  On a late restart, 2008 GAS Champion Russell Fleeman got around Simpson.  At the white flag, Simpson got into Fleeman, moving him out of the lead.  Kyle Fowler followed Simpson’s example in turn three by moving Fleeman and taking second away.  Fleeman finished third with Jason Hogan and John Wes Townley finishing fourth and fifth respectively.

There will be an open practice on Friday, January 29th. Practice and qualifying will take place on Saturday, January 30th. The feature events will be ran on Sunday, January 31st in the afternoon. More information on the event and information on the GAS Series is available at www.lanierspeedway.com. More information on the CRA Super Series is available at www.craracing.net.

Kyle Busch won last year's SpeedFest.