Steele is King of the Wings, Hantz is Super at Winchester
CRA Super Series and WInged Sprint Share Billing
By Gib Chew, CRA PR Report
Tampa, Florida9 9s Dave Steele added another great achievement to his long list of accomplishments in a Sprint Car by winning the fifth addition of the King of the Wings Sprint Car Challenge Presented By Pier-Mac Plastics on the famous High Banks of Winchester Speedway Sunday afternoon. Steele passed early leader Aaron Pierce and then held off the challenge of Jason Blonde to get the victory and was crowned King of the Wings in Victory Lane.

“This was a great win,” remarked Steele in victory lane. “We had a good car and I was able to get out front and hold off the 42 car to get the win. This is a really cool trophy!”

The event was organized by Must See Racing and sanctioned by the Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series (AVBBSS) and the Hoosier Outlaw Sprint Series (HOSS) and brought out the stars of both series plus some good independents like Steele. The King of the Wings Sprint Car Challenge was the 1st event in a 2-race showdown called the "Battle of The Banks".  The second race will be at Anderson Speedway this Wednesday, May 20th. Both Tracks are heralded, as the "Fastest in the World" for their size tracks, and the over-all best finisher between the two shows, over the four days, will be crowned the "Battle of Banks" Champion.

Blonde finished in second. Jim Swain finished in third. Chad Goff was fourth with Jeff Bloom in fifth place. Blonde was the events fast qualifier turning a lap of 13.729 seconds. A total of 23 cars were on hand for the event with 20 cars starting the 30 lap feature. Heat race victories went to Swain, 2008 King of the Wings winner Jimmy McCune and Steele. McCune suffered mechanical problems in the feature and finished in 15th place.

The King Of The Wings Sprint Car Challenge Presented By Pier-Mac Plastics will be televised taped delayed by Must See Racing on Comcast Cable and Comcast Sportsnet to 10,000,000 households. Go to for information on time, date and channel of when the event will=2 0be broadcast. Winchester’s own Tom Bigelow is one of the broadcasters for Must See Racing along with veteran open wheel writer and announcer Dave Argabright.

For the second year in a row CRA Super Series three-time Champion Scott Hantz passed early leader Jeff Lane to get the victory in Sunday’s Manning Service 100 for the CRA Super Series. Hantz was the EDCO Welding Fast Qualifier toping a field of 24 cars. Hantz started fifth after drawing a five for the events invert. Jeff Lane took advantage of his front row starting position to grab the early lead. It didn’t take long for Hantz to work his way to Lane’s bumper. Hantz worked for several laps trying to pass Lane before getting by on lap 43, from there Hantz cruised to a four second victory.

"I want to park this car and leave it just like this for the Winchester 400!" Hantz exclaimed in Victory Lane.  "The crew had the car set up perfectly, it was the best I have ever had a car handle here."

The victory was the third series win at Winchester Speedway for Hantz placing him in a tie with Bull Baker and Brian Ross for the most series victories at Winchester. The win was Hantz’s series leading 24th victory. He is now in second place with 12 fast qualifier awards, one behind series all time leader Kenny Tweedy.

John VanDoorn finished in second place after a tough battle with Jim Crabtree Jr., who came from his 12th place starting position to finish third. Aaron Pierce finished in fourth after a disappointing 17th place finish in the King Of the Wings feature after having to park that car with brake issues. Rick Turner battled back from having to pit for a flat tire to finish in fifth place.

Nick Lay was the K & N Filters Rookie of the Race Award winner with his 11th place finish. Fellow rookie competitor Brandon Fagin was the Lane Automotive/ISKY Racing Cams Hardcharger Award winner advancing 10 positions during the event to finish 12th. Hoosier Racing Tire Performance Awards went to Crabtree Jr. and Adam Purdy. Hantz claimed the Kingen Express Halfway Leader Bonus and the Competition Race Fuels Clean Sweep Award. Crabtree Jr. was awarded the ARP Bodies Cool Move of the Race Award for his great passes to finish in third.

Joshua Burton kicked off the CRA Street Stocks 2009 season with a victory on Sunday in the MAX Rocks 40. Burton worked past early leader Brian Hopkins to take the lead on lap 12. Burton then had to hold off Hopkins on several restarts, once almost crashing after contact with the outside wall on one restart.

"I really did not expect to win,” remarked a smiling Burton in victory lane.  “I was just hoping to get a top 5 finish, but here we are. We are taking care of two teams this year, and it has been a struggle, but this was fun."

Hopkins finished in second with Jason Thompson in third. Chad Poorman finished in fourth in his first ever start with the CRA Street Stocks. Larry Matillo finished in fifth place. Winston Wood was the series fast qualifier on Sunday besting the 28 cars on hand. Hopkins and Calvin Parham won the 10 lap heat races. Burton was the Turn One Performance Lap Leader Award winner by leading 29 laps of the 40 lap feature. Rich Boyer was the TCI Automotive Hard Charger Award winner by gaining 18 positions to finish 10th.

Tim Dilg got the victory on Sunday in the 2009 Vore’s Welding & Steel CRA FWD Compacts 2009 season opener. Dilg came from his seventh place starting position to pass early leader Jess Drook on lap six and lead the rest of the way to get the victory. Drook finished in second, Jordan Flynn in third, Bill Charles in fourth and Rex Zimmerman in fifth. Zimmerman and Flynn were winners of the 8 lap heat races.

The next event at Winchester Speedway will be on Friday & Saturda y, June 5th and 6th as the USARacing Pro Cup Series comes to the High Banks for the Lucas Oil 200. Also in action will be the Vore’s Welding & Steel CRA FWD Compacts on both days. More information on this event and the entire 2009 Winchester Speedway schedule is available at

Jeff Lane (#11) and Scott Hanzt (#72) battle for the victory at Winchester in the CRA Super Series event.  (Dennis Kimble Photos)
Scott Hantz in victory lane.
Dave Steele in victory lane.