Frederickson is Honored as ASA Midwest Champion By Kevin Ramsell, ASA MW Series PR
Murgic is Top Rookie, Iverson a Sportsman and Much More
Dan Fredrickson capped off a great evening at the American Speed Association Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment Championship Banquet as he was honored as the series 2008 champion. The top-20 and others were also honored this past Saturday evening at the Kalahari Resort in Wisconsin Dells, WI.

Fredrickson was honored to be the second champion in the ASAMT. Along with thanking his friend, family and sponsors, he also thanked his fellow competitors for the competition he faced this past season. One of the thoughts he shared was the history of him and Tim Schendel going back to 2006 when the two were in a tight battle for the NASCAR Elite Division Midwest Series championship. Fredrickson came up short in that battle and he stated it was great to see what its like on the other side with his ASAMT championship. Along with a $6,000 championship check, he also received over $3,500 in additional rewards including a new 5.5 inch clutch from Powertrain Technology.
Donny Reuvers finished second in points. Along with his point fund and contingency awards, Reuvers also picked up a $2,500 product certificate from Lefthander Chassis in honor of his three wins.

Wayne Lensing, owner of Lefthander Chassis, announced that in 2009 any driver who competes with a Lefthander Chassis and takes home six wins will receive a $5,000 product certificate.

Nick Murgic, who recently turned 18, was honored as the 2008 Lane Automotive Rookie of the Year presented by Red Line Synthetic Oil, Hypercoils, and Roltek Racing Transmission. Murgic took home nearly $10,000 in product awards including a new Roltek transmission valued at $5,000.

Two big awards had the attention of all the competitors in attendance. The first was engine giveaway by Tesar Engineering and B&B Racing Engines. Both engine builders donated their time to build the engines with products donated by many part manufacturers.

Over 30 manufacturers donated parts to each of the engines. Both the ASAMT and the engine builders thank those manufacturers for their support in this unique award.

The names of the eligible drivers were announced and put in a hat. Chris Wimmer's name was pulled as the winner of the Tesar ACE motor while Blake Horstman was practically speechless as his name was called as the winner of the B&B ACE motor.
Bruce Mueller of B&B Racing Engines along with Mike & Gary Tesar of Tesar Engineering were honored as the ASAMT Engine Builders of the Year before the announcement of the winners.

The second big award was the announcement of the winner of the 2008 Larry Detjens Sportsmanship Award. Margo Detjens, daughter of Larry, was in attendance and thanked everyone for remembering her father. She introduced a video that announced the 2008 winner. An emotional Jamie Iverson took to the stage after the video showed he was the winner. Iverson stated that one of his goals in his career was to receive a sportsmanship award and was honored with a special trophy designed by Wehrs Machine that featured a die cast of one of Detjens late models.

Tom Eilen, owner of Jonathan's Eilen late model, was honored as the Car Owner of the Year while Reuvers and Hank Calmes, owner of Kyle Calmes late model, were both honored with a Dedication Award. Eric Peterson, ASAMT Race Director was named as the Official of the Year.

Iverson returned to the stage as his team was honored by Kwik Trip Stores as the Kwikade Team of the Year. His team received a year supply of Kwik Aid.

Kwik Trip Stores and ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment were honored as being the title series sponsor and presenting series sponsor respectively.

Kris Kelly received the Hard Luck Award and received a $500 product certificate from Five Star Race Car Bodies. Travis Sauter won the Hard Charger Award and received a new chassis from Lefthander Chassis and the Eilen Racing Team was named as the Best Dressed Team sponsored by The Swiss Colony/

Chris Wimmer won a new Five Star body while Russ Blakeley won a re-skin package from Five Star Race Car Bodies.

Over $10,000 in door prizes were also given out to all drivers in attendance this past Saturday night.

Tim Olson, ASAMT President and Steve Einhaus, ASAMT Vice-president each took to the podium to thank everyone for their efforts this past season and is looking forward to a great 2009 season.

Matt Panure, ASAMT announcer, served as the emcee of the event.

The 2009 season opener will take place on Saturday, April 25 at Dells Raceway Park in Wisconsin Dells, WI for the first Race of the Gold event.

To learn more about the American Speed Association Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by Echo Outdoor Power Equipment log on to or call the ASA Midwest Tour office at (262) 514-3880 or e-mail Tim Olson at or Steve Einhaus at

The American Speed Association Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment is sanctioned by the American Speed Association . To learn more of the Daytona Beach, Florida-based Racing Speed Associates or the American Speed Association® including the ASA Member Track program, call (386) 258-2221 or send an e-mail to For news and information from racetracks and regional tours involved in the American Speed Association®, visit .

ASA™, ASA Racing™ and American Speed Association® are trademarks of Racing Speed Associates, LLC.  Racing Speed Associates, LLC is not related to or affiliated with ASA Late Model Series, LLC.