Drew Brannon Wins ASA LM / SPLMS Race at the Melon
Watermelon Capital Victory Continues His Role This Season
ASA LM Series PR Report
The ASA Late Model Series South Division Presented by GM Performance Parts completed the fourth event of the 2009 season at the Watermelon Capital Speedway.  The Watermelon Bowl 100 event  is also the fourth feature the ASA Late Model Series teams have ran since 2006 at WCS. 

Drew Brannon won the event, making this his 3rd win of the season, he had a remarkable day with fast times in practice and fast qualifier. 

Lot's of side by side racing at the 'Melon'  but on the last lap the 08 Drew Brannon took the checkered Flag.  The Watermelon Bowl 100 had 7 cautions for the night, the fourth one of the evening took out 21 year old Justin Larson and ended his night when he broke a crank. 

The 83 Scotty Ellis lead the first five laps of the feature and 14 year old Stephen Nasse took the lead on lap six and held onto it for next 35 laps. Stephen battled to keep the lead from the 88 Justin Larson.  A caution between the 51 Stephen Nasse and the 88 Justin Larson opened the door for the  08 of Drew Brannon to work his way to the front and take the lead until the checkered flag dropped.

The ASA Late Model Series teams and fans also had a chance to celebrate a few top Birthdays with the 88 Justin Larson for the big '21' years old, the 93 Brandon Johnson and the 51 Stephen Nasse.

Justin and Stephen both got close to bringing home the win, Brandon had tough luck with car issues all evening long. 

In the end, ASA Late Model Series, Drew Brannon and Georgia Team David Odell, took spots one and two, SPLM Teams Russell Fleeman and Scotty Ellis held the third and fourth finishing position and ASA Late Model Series Team Dustin Dunn rounded out the top five. 

The ASA Late Model Series South and the Southern Pro Late Models have completed the third event of the season together and we have shown how competitive both can be. At each event it was a mix of both ASALMS and SPLM team holding the top five positions.

As always the Georgia hospitality was great; The Watermelon Capital Speedway Staff and Officials took great care of us and helped us have another great day of racing. 

Unofficial Results Watermelon Bowl 100

1. 08 - Drew Brannon - 100
2. 75 - David Odell - 100
3. 98 - Russell Fleeman - 100
4. 83 - Scotty Ellis - 100
5. 59 - Dustin Dunn - 100
6. 26 Tavis Cope -100
7. 78 - Ross Chastain (R) - 100
8. 5 - Wes Burton - 100
9. 11 - Austin Kirkpatrick (R) 100
10. 45 - Nick Potts 100
11. 51 - Stephen Nasse (R)100
12. 2 - Ralph Carns 100
13. 93 - Brandon Johnson 92
14. 88 - Justin Larson 66
15. 95 - Warren Mobley50
16.31 - Brian Blum 7
17. 12 - Brandon Brilliant (R) DNS

Cars Out
93 - Brandon Johnson - Handling
88 - Justin Larson - Broke Crank
95 - Warren Mobley - Gear
31 - Brian Blum - Tire Rod

Lap Leaders: 83 Scotty Ellis, 51 Stephen Nasse, 08 Drew Brannon

Drew Brannon's winning #08 car.  (SPLMS Photo)
Drew Brannon in victory lane.