Dave Pembroke Dominates the Bond Auto Labor Day Classic
Leads Wire-to-Wire at Thunder Road
ACT PR Report
Dave Pembroke of Montpelier led all 200 laps of the American Canadian Tour Bond Auto Labor Day Classic 200 at Thunder Road International Speedbowl in Barre, VT. Pembroke started on the pole after earning a +8 handicap by moving from 11th to 3rd in his heat race. John Donahue and Patrick Laperle battled hard for the final 19 laps with Donahue getting the edge by a bumper at the line. Brian Hoar and Eric Williams were the final two cars on the lead lap and rounded out the top five.

The thirty car field made it through the first 181 laps caution free while Pembroke put all but the top five cars down a lap. Pembroke felt no competition as the closest car on the lead lap was nearly a half a track behind as they both worked their way through lap traffic. All thirty cars were still on the track when the checkered flag flew.

Pembroke has already qualified for the ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 19 with his win earlier this year at the Memorial Day Classic at Thunder Road.

Scott Coburn of Barre took home his 6th career NAPA Tiger Sportsmen feature win. Coburn came from the fifth starting spot and held the lead through the majority of the race while surviving a late race restart. Ricky Roberts, Pete Ainsworth, Joey Laquerre and Tom Therrien all finished in the top five. Lance Allen, Bobby Therrien, Shawn Fleury, Brendan Moodie and Matt Potter finished in the sixth through tenth positions.

Hyde Park’s Tucker Williams captured the fourth feature win of his rookie season. Williams was chased to the line by Tommy Smith, David Whitcomb, Kevin Streeter, and Lloyd Blakely rounding out the top five. Martin Ingram, Greg Adams, point leader Gary Mullen, Mike Martin and Bunker Hodgdon all came home with top ten finishes.

Donnie Yates of Montpelier was the top finishing leader and remains on top of the point standings. Kevin Streeter finished second followed by Ken Christman, Keith Fortier, and Kevin Dodge.

The 50th Anniversary Season at Thunder Road International Speedbowl will come to a conclusion with the Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Qualifying Day on Saturday, September 26 and the 47th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl on Sunday, September 27th. The Milk Bowl will be the final point counting event for the NAPA Tiger Sportsmen, Allen Lumber Street Stocks, and Power Shift Junkyard Warriors. The 47th Annual Milk Bowl will award a purse of over $70,000.

The American Canadian Tour will be back in action next weekend on Sunday, September 13 for the Mohawk Casino Fall Foliage 300 at Airborne Speedway. It will be the 12th race on the ACT Tour schedule and the final qualifying race for the ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 19. Post time next Sunday is set for 1 pm.

ACT Tour Bond Auto Labor Day Classic 200 Results – 1. Dave Pembroke (44) Montpelier, VT, 2. John Donahue (26VT) Graniteville, VT, 3. Patrick Laperle (91) St-Denis-sur-Richelieu, QC, 4. Brian Hoar (37) Williston, VT, 5. Eric Williams (7VT) Hyde Park, VT, 6. Cris Michaud (6) Northfield, VT, 7. Brent Dragon (55vt) Milton, VT, 8. Chip Grenier (9vt) Graniteville, VT, 9. Craig Bushey (05) Cambridge, VT, 10. Nicholas Sweet (88) Barre, VT, 11. Scott Payea (89) Milton, VT, 12. Jean-Paul Cyr (11vt) Milton, VT, 13. Phil Scott (14) Montpelier, VT, 14. Pete Potvin, III (41) Graniteville, VT, 15. Jamie Fisher (18) Shelburne, VT, 16. Travis Stearns (5) Auburn, ME, 17. Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. (97nh) Hudson, NH, 18. Brad Leighton (55nh) Center Harbor, NH, 19. Quinten Welch (78nh) Lancaster, NH, 20. Randy Potter (02nh) Groveton, NH, 21. Tony Andrews (1) Northfield, VT, 22. Trampas Demers (85) South Burlington, VT, 23. Tyler Cahoon (38vt) St.Johnsbury, VT, 24. Joe Becker (16) Jeffersonville, VT, 25. Eric Chase (40vt) Milton, VT, 26. Dave Paya (72vt) N. Clarendon, VT, 27. Gary Caron (22vt) Colchester, VT, 28. David Whitcomb (25) Essex Jct., VT, 29. Jerry Lesage (74) Winooski, VT, 30. Glen Luce (7me) Turner, ME.

Patrick Laperle (#91) and Eric Williams (#7VT) go wheel to wheel at Thunder Road.  (Leif Tillotson Photos)
Dave Pembroke is the happy winner after the Labor Day Classic.