ACT Announces Their Next Six Invitees For NHMS Race
Rolfe, Fisher, Doiron, Jordan, Martin and Chase Get the Nod
ACT Tour PR Report
The American Canadian Tour (ACT) has announced the names of six more teams that have been invited to participate in the fifty-mile event at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway (NHMS) on Saturday, September  19th. The inaugural event for the ACT competitors will be held in conjunction with the first of the NASCAR ‘Chase’ weekends over September 18-20.

Fifty ACT teams tested at NHMS a week ago, and twenty-two teams were invited to confirm entries for the first ever event for the region’s top Late Model touring and weekly race teams. Three teams from Maine, two teams from Vermont, and one team from Connecticut have been added to the list, which now totals 28. There are still eight positions to be filled in the next two weeks.

Former Oxford Plains Speedway driver and full-time ACT competitor in 2009, Ricky Rolfe from Albany Township, ME, has joined the list. Rolfe is a car builder at Race Basics Chassis in Andover, Maine, and is a former track champion at Oxford Plains Speedway in both the Pro-Stock and Late Model divisions. Another Oxford Plains Speedway competitor and part-time ACT racer, Shawn Martin from Turner, ME, has been asked to join the field which will become 36 cars after the completion of the Fall Foliage 300 at Airborne Speedway in Plattsburgh, NY on September 13th.

ACT Rookie driver Joey Doiron from Berwick, ME has been invited. Doiron, who will be a senior in high school beginning this week, has had an outstanding freshman year on the ACT. Doiron is coming off a top ten finish in the All-Star Showdown at Chaudiere last weekend, which involved the top teams from the ACT US, along with the top teams from the ACT Castrol Quebec tour competing over 200 laps.

Veteran ACT competitors Eric Chase from Milton, VT and Jamie Fisher from Shelburne, VT are two long time ACT competitors. Both Chase and Fisher have pulled double duty in 2009, running weekly at Thunder Road in Barre, VT and competing on the US Tour. Fisher is a former “King of the Road” at Thunder Road, winning the title in 2003 in a tie-breaker by virtue of having one more win than three-time track champion Phil Scott, who was previously invited to the Invitational.

Connecticut’s Waterford Speedbowl will be well represented when Tim Jordan from Plainfield, CT joins track Champion Bruce Thomas in the Invitational. Jordan had an outstanding race in the only appearance of the ACT at the seacoast speedplant in 2009. His test and tune effort at NHMS was equally impressive. Jordan brings the current total to 28 teams that will come from all six New England states and two provinces of Canada to participate in the inaugural ACT Invitational.

With three events remaining, there are eight spots still available to fill the 36 car starting field. “ We have to leave some spots open for the remaining ACT affiliate track champions, and for the three events still to be run before the Invitational,” said ACT President, Tom Curley. There are still three ACT qualifying events before the NHMS event. They include the rained-out Twin State Speedway 100 lap event on Friday, September 4 in Claremont, NH. Two days later, the 31st Bond Auto Labor Day Classic 200 will take place at Thunder Road Speedbowl in Barre, VT. The final event will take place at the newly designed 1/2 mile Airborne Speedway in Plattsburgh, NY with the Fall Foliage 300.

ACT Invitational Invited Teams:

Car#   State  Name             Hometown                Track/Series

9        ON    Brandon Watson   Stayner, ON          Kawartha Downs
10        NH   Ben Rowe             Turner, ME            ACT
11        VT    Jean Paul Cyr        Milton, VT              Thunder Road
11        RI    Ryan Vanesse        Warwick, RI           Seekonk
14        VT    Phil Scott               Middlesex, VT        Thunder Road
14        ON   Sean Kennedy       Dunrobin, On        Capital City
17        MA   Eddie MacDonald    Rowley, MA          ACT
18        VT    Jamie Fisher          Shelburne, VT        ACT/TR
21        QC   Jean Francois Dery Quebec City, QC   ACT Castrol
26        VT    John Donahue        Graniteville, VT     ACT/TR
35        CT    Bruce Thomas       Groton, CT            Waterford
37        VT    Brian Hoar             Williston, VT         ACT
40        VT    Eric Chase             Milton, VT             ACT/TR
44        VT    Dave Pembroke      Montpelier, VT      Thunder Road
47       CT    Tim Jordan            Plainfield, CT          Waterford
48      QC    Karl Allard              Ste Felicien, QC      ACT Castrol
51       ME    Ricky Rolfe            Albany Twnshp, ME  ACT
55      VT     Brent Dragon        Milton, VT                ACT
55      NH    Brad Leighton        Center Harbor, NH   ACT
71      ON    Dan McHattie        Cavan, On               Kawartha Downs
73      ME    Joey Doiron           Berwick, ME             ACT
80      QC    Donald Theetge     Quebec, City, QC     ACT Castrol
89      VT     Scott Payea           Milton, VT                ACT
91      QC    Patrick Laperle       Montreal, QC           ACT Castrol
94      ME    Shawn Martin        Turner, ME              Oxford Plains
97      NH     Joey Polewarczyk   Hudson, NH             ACT
02      NH     Randy Potter                   Groveton, NH          ACT
04      ME     TJ Watson             Cundy’s Harbor, ME Wiscasset             

Jamie Fisher and Ricky Rolfe are among the latest to be invited to the ACT race at NHMS.