Nick Sweet Claims ACT Late Model Milk Bowl Pole
Field is Set, But Race is Postponed One Week By Rain at T-Road
ACT PR Report
Barre’s Nick Sweet earned the Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Pole award at Thunder Road International Speedbowl on Saturday, September 26. Sweet ran a lap of 13.110 on the ¼ mile speedbowl and will sit on the pole for the first segment of the 47th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl on Sunday, September 27. Sweet earned $1000 from Booth Bros./H.P. Hood for his qualifying efforts.

Only four other times Milk Bowl history has a Barre driver claimed pole position. Chester T. Woods set the fast time in 1970, Dan Beede sat on the pole in 1991 and 1992 while brother Chuck Beede started at the front in 1996.

Joey “Pole” Polewarczyk, Jr. came up just short in his attempt for four straight pole awards. His fastest lap was just 54 one-thousandths of a second off of Sweet’s fast time. Pole had to settle for the outside pole position.

Booth Bros./H.P. Hood qualifying day continued with Triple 50 qualifiers. Montpelier’s Dave Pembroke took the win in the first 50 lap qualifier while Graniteville’s John Donahue and East Montpelier’s Joey Laquerre won segments one and two respectively.

Other qualifying notables were Joey Doiron of Berwick, ME and Tyler Cahoon of St. Johnsbury. Doiron started in the tenth spot of qualifier #2 after time trialing 29th fastest. Doiron climbed his way up to the third position to earn himself the tenth starting spot in segment one. Cahoon also ran in the second qualifier, but he started 13th with his 38th fastest time trial effort. Cahoon was also able to earn himself a qualified spot by finishing 5th. He will start 16th in segment one of the 47th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl.

“The triple 50’s turned out to be the best qualifying races we’ve ever seen for the $75,000 classic,” claimed Thunder Road owner Ken Squier.

Booth Bros./H.P. Hood qualifying was capped off with the Last Chance race. Lancaster, NH’s Quinten Welch, a White Mountain Motorsports regular won the 25 lap event and claimed one of the final 4 qualifying positions. Joey Becker took the Thunder Road Late Model provisional and Eric Chase inherited the ACT Tour provisional.

A total of 54 ACT Late Models attempted to qualify for the 47th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl. The field of thirty is now set for segment one.

The 47th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl at Barre’s Thunder Road originally scheduled for Sunday, September 27th, has been postponed due to rain. The event has been rescheduled for next Sunday, October 4th.

The 47th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl is the final event of Thunder Road’s 50th Anniversary Season. Barre’s Nick Sweet will start on the pole of the first segment next Sunday, after earning the Booth Bros./H.P. Hood Pole award on Saturday, September 26. Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. will start on the outside pole after coming up just short in his bid for a fourth straight pole award. A total of 54 cars attempted to qualify for the non-point counting event. The field of 30 has been set for the first segment.

Next Sunday’s event will be the final point counting event for the NAPA Tiger Sportsman, Allen Lumber Street Stocks and Power Shift Junkyard Warriors. Post time is set for 1 p.m.

47th Annual Chittenden Milk Bowl
Segment #1 Starting Lineup
Sunday, September 27

Pos       Car #   Driver  Hometown

1          88        Nicholas Sweet            Barre, VT
2          97NH   Joey Polewarczyk, Jr.  Hudson, NH
3          55VT    Brent Dragon              Milton, VT
4          44        Dave Pembroke          Montpelier, VT
5          26VT    John Donahue             Graniteville, VT
6          15VT    Joey Laquerre             E. Montpelier, VT
7          7VT      Eric Williams               Hyde Park, VT
8          18        Jamie Fisher                Shelburne, VT
9          9VT      Chip Grenier               Graniteville, VT
10        73ME   Joey Doiron                 Berwick, ME
11        14        Phil Scott                     Montpelier, VT
12        89        Scott Payea                 Milton, VT
13        6          Cris Michaud               Northfield, VT
14        11VT    Jean-Paul Cyr              Milton, VT
15        55NH   Brad Leighton             Center Harbor, NH
16        38VT    Tyler Cahoon               St.Johnsbury, VT
17        8VT      Rich Lowrey                Charlotte, VT
18        00        Mike Bailey                 Barre, VT
19        37        Brian Hoar                  Williston, VT
20        7ME     Glen Luce                    Turner, ME
21        41        Pete Potvin, III             Graniteville, VT
22        42VT    Matt White                 Northfield, VT
23        32        Mike Olsen                  North Haverhill, NH
24        1          Tony Andrews             Northfield, VT
25        78NH   Quinten Welch            Lancaster, NH
26        27        Wayne Helliwell Jr.     Dracut, MA
27        25        David Whitcomb         Essex Jct., VT
28        77NH   Mark Hayward                        Unity, NH
29        16        Joe Becker                   Jeffersonville, VT
30        40VT    Eric Chase                   Milton, VT
Nick Sweet (#88) and Joey Pole (#97) will make up the front row for next Sunday's Milk Bowl.