51's Weekend Update
Who Won and What Happened
ASA Late Model Series, Northern Division - Eddie Hoffman became the third driver to “Three-Peat” in ASA Late Model Series competition in 2008 by winning Sunday's ASA LM North show at Toledo Speedway (OH).  1) Hoffman  2) Jesse Saunders  3) Brian Campbell  4) Jack Smith  5) Dave Gentile Jr.

ASA Midwest Tour - Donny Reuvers has always been a patient driver behind the wheel of his Toyota Camry. Sunday, that patience paid off as he collects his first ASA Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment win by taking the Miller Lite 100 presented by Arby's at Dells Raceway Park in Wisconsin Dells, WI.  1) Reuvers  2) Steve Carlson  3) Andrew Morrisey  4) Travis Sauter  5) Johnny Sauter

ASA RC Cola/Moon Pie Southeast Asphalt Tour - Travis Cope became the fifth different winner in five ASA SAT races on Saturday night at New Senoia Speedway (GA).  1) Cope  2) Joey Senter  3) David Elliott  4) Max Gresham  5) Taylor Satterfield

Blizzard Super Late Model Series - Scott Carlson was the man in round number two of the Blizzard Super Late Model Series at Five Flags Speedway (FL)  that sets up the annual Snowball Derby at the Five Flags Speedway, but what is most interesting about his accomplishment is that Carlson held off the guys with the fresher tires at the conclusion of the 100-lap event.

The veteran Carlson took the lead on lap 69, just ten laps after making a stop for right-side tires.  He drove from outside the top five to the lead and looked like superman as the laps ticked off.  1) Carlson  2) Josh Hamner  3) Augie Grill  4) Chris Davidson  5) Ryan Crane


Lanier Super 6 Pro Late Model Series - For 56 laps of the 100-lap Super 6 Pro Late Model race at Lanier National Speedway Saturday night, Cleveland’s Kevin Barrett looked unstoppable.

Barrett started sixth, grabbed the lead on Lap 16 and had begun to open a nearly quarter-lap lead by Lap 72 before a wave of caution flags made Barrett’s ride a little more stressful. He survived three lead changes and four cautions over the final 28 laps before holding off hard-charging Shane Sawyer for the victory.

“The longer we run (without a caution) the better I like it,” Barrett said. “It was a hard finish but we were able to hang on. I feel like we’ve been running well lately so maybe finally getting a win will get us going.”

Fredrick Moore finished third, Shane Chastain took fourth, and Larry Jordan, despite being 12 laps down, was fifth as only six cars in the 13-car field finished the race.

Late Models - Jack Kalwasinski made a little bit of history Saturday night at the ASA-sanctioned Illiana Speedway, winning the first late-model feature of his career.  1) Kalwasinski 2) Mike Monroe 3) Mike White 4) Jeff Cannon 5) Chris Cooling

Modifieds - In the Farm Bureau Insurance Modified Series at Bowman Gray Stadium (NC), Tim Brown of Cana, Va. dominated the first race. Brown has been the fastest qualifier for each of the five events at Bowman Gray Stadium. The #83 car of Brown sat on the pole again on Saturday and led from start to finish with a commanding lead. “We've known all year that we had a really good race car, and tonight we got to show what this thing is made of,” said Brown.

Michael Clifton of Walkertown and Burt Myers of Walnut Cove finished in second and third.

The “Madhouse Scramble” sent Lee Jeffreys of High Point to the front of the pack for the start of the second race. Jeffreys had to deal with some tough competition early in the race but was able to hang on and take the win. “For a driver that has a hard time qualifying, if I ever get out front I run pretty good,” said Lee Jeffreys. Brothers Jason Myers and Burt Myers finished second and third.

Modifieds - Rusty Smith held off Matt Hirschman to win Sunday's rain-delayed 75-lap PA Asphalt Modified Championship Series feature at Mountain Speedway.  1) Smith  2) Hirschman  3) John Markovic  4) Andy Walko  5) Earl Paules

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series - The National Kodak 250 at Autodrome St. Eustache has been postponed due to inclement weather for the second straight day. NASCAR and track officials are working on a re-scheduled date for the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Sirius Satellite Radio event. An announcement will be made once plans are finalized.

Drivers were able to get a practice session in this morning, but an early afternoon rain shower dampened the track once again. Track officials tried for several hours to dry the track to no avail.

In the practice session, Jason Hathaway (No. 3 Snap-on Tools Dodge) posted the fastest lap at 17.458 seconds (82.484 mph). He was followed closely by Quebec-native Alex Tagliani (No. 7 Wal-Mart/Ubisoft Ford) and last week’s race winner Scott Steckly (No. 22 Erb Group Dodge).

The next scheduled Canadian Tire Series event is the Dickies 200 presented by Lucas Oil on Sunday, June 15 at the legendary 2.459-mile road course of Mosport International Raceway near Bowmanville, Ont.

NASCAR Camping World East Series - Brian Ickler found the perfect place the short-track 'big one' - out front.

Ickler (No. 15 Ickler Motorsports Chevrolet) won his second straight NASCAR Camping World Series East race, leading nearly ever lap of the Strutmasters.com 150 at South Boston Speedway (VA) Saturday night.

During post race technical inspection, potential issues with the No. 15 car of Ickler were found. Additional information will be made available early this week.  1) Ickler  2) Austin Dillon  3) Peyton Sellers  4) Eddie MacDonald  5) Matt Kobyluck 

Super Late Models - Saturday's 100-lap Pro Series (Super Late Model) special event at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway was rained out and postponed until next Saturday, June 7th.

UARA-STARS - Jake Crum won Saturday's UARA-STARS race at Dillon Motor Speedway (SC).  1) Crum  2) Jamie Yelton  3) Jamey Caudill  4) Roger Lee Newton  5) B.J. Mackey

USAR Pro Cup - Mark McFarland took the lead for the final time on Lap 111 and pulled away from rookie Drew Herring and Cale Gale to win the Sears Auto Center 150 at the Milwaukee Mile on Saturday afternoon.

McFarland, driver of the No. 81s Sears Auto Center Chevrolet, started 10th in the 40-car field and moved to the point on Lap 63. After giving up the lead during the cycle of pit stops, McFarland charged past Benny Gordon off Turn 2 and never looked back.  1) McFarland  2) Herring  3) Cale Gale  4) Caleb Holman  5) Brad Rogers