51's Weekend Update
Who Won and What Happened
ACT -  Late Model stock car driver Scott Payea of Milton, VT earned his third career American-Canadian Tour victory in the 10th Annual Merchants Bank 150 at Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl on Sunday afternoon.  Payea waged a race-long battle with
defending Thunder Road Track Champion Dave Pembroke of Middlesex, VT, finally taking the lead for good on lap 129.  1_ Payea  2_ Patrick Laperle  3) Pembroke  4) Phil Scott   5) Jean Paul Cyr

ARCA - Joey Logano, in the no. 25 Venturini Motorsports-prepared Joe Gibbs Racing Oil-Gresham & Associates Chevrolet, led 257 of 312 laps to conquer the "Rock," Rockingham Speedway in his career-first ARCA RE/MAX Series start.  Logano also earned the Aaron's Lap Leader award for leading the most laps.  Outside of a late-race wrestling match with Ken Schrader and mid-race battle with Michael Annett and Matt Hawkins, Logano had nary a challenger during the 500 kilometer/312-mile race.  1) Logano  2) Schrader  3) Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.  4) Hawkins  5) Annett

ASA MIDWEST – Dan Fredrickson held off a late charge from Steve Carlson to take his fourth ASA Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment win on Sunday at Madison International Speedway.  It wasn’t until lap 69 when Fredrickson would get a great run off of turn two and get on the inside of Morrissey going into turn three. As the two would race side-by-side coming off of turn four, it was Fredrickson leading the lap by a nose. Fredrickson would take over the spot going down the backstretch a lap later.  Carlson would put on a challenge for the win, but Fredrickson was just too strong for him.  1) Fredrickson  2) Carlson  3) Kyle Busch  4) Mark Eswein  5) Josh Vadnais

ASA SOUTHEAST– Tim Russell proved once again that he can get the job done in the state of Florida Saturday night, winning in his first-ever RC Cola / MoonPie ASA Southeast Asphalt Tour start at USA International Speedway.  Russell led a top-four spot sweep of Florida drivers in Lakeland.  1) Russell  2) Jeff Choquette  3) Travis Cope  4) Daniel Keene, Jr.  5) Jason Hogan


BIG 8Jeremy Miller and Michael Bilderback got the large crowd on hand at Madison International Speedway on their feet as the two put on a classic short track battle in the Big 8 Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet feature event. At the checkers, it was the defending champion Miller holding off the young pilot.  Bilderback took the lead on lap 19 when early leader Tyler Sauter got loose coming off of turn four, allowing Bilderback to get by him on the inside. At that time Miller worked his way to fourth after starting 12th.  With 12 laps to go, Miller got on the inside of Sauter for second and, a lap later, he would set his sites on Bilderback. Miller was on his bumper with five laps to go and the race was on to the finish.  1) Miller  2) Bilderback  3) Bobby Wilberg  4) Skylar Holzhausen  5) Ross Kenseth

GAS – Russell Fleeman led the Georgia Asphalt Series in victories en route to a championship in 2007.  Win number-one in 2008 on the GAS tour came Saturday at Peach State Speedway.  1) Fleeman  2) Wes Burton  3) Ryan Seig  4) Joey Senter  5) Richard Johns

PASS NORTH - The deep-northeast based Super Late Model tour had its race at Speedway 95 postponed on Saturday night due to rain.  No word on if the race will be made up.  Other PASS support series' did complete their features with Scott Mulkern (Outlaws), Mark Lucas (Mods) and Dan McKeage (Sportsman) the winners.

PRO CHALLENGE – 12-year-olds Nick Stroupe and Clint King battled hard early in the Pro Challenge Series feature Saturday night at Lanier National Speedway before Stroupe pulled away mid-race.   Stroupe went on to score his second series victory of the season for BDI Racing.  Meghan Dillner, in her first-ever series start, finished fifth.  1) Stroupe  2) King  3) Brandon Williamson  4) Kyle Plott  5) Dillner

TRUE VALUE MODS – David Pinkham survived a caution-filled 100-lap feature at Connecticut’s Waterford Speedbowl Saturday night to win the TVMRS Connecticut Army National Guard 100.  1) Pinkham  2) Dwight Jarvis  3) Les Hinckley  4) Chris Pasteryak  5) Vinnie Annarummo, Jr.

VIPER SLM - Casey Smith held off Rattler winner Grant Enfinger to win the Viper Series Super Late Model event at South Alabama Speedway Saturday night. 1) Smith 2) Enfinger 3) Wayne Anderson 4) Bubba Pollard 5) Chris Davidson