51's Weekend Update
Who Won and What Happened
ACT Late Model Tour - American-Canadian Tour Late Model Championship stock car driver John Donahue of Graniteville, VT won the fastest race in series history at Barre, VT’s Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl on Sunday, taking the 46th Annual Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic in 28 minutes and 16 seconds.  Donahue’s #26 National Guard Ford Fusion started fourth on the 30-car grid and came to life just before the halfway point.  Donahue grabbed the lead after an outside pass of polesitter Eric Williams on lap 47, then survived the race’s lone restart on lap 70 to earn the win.  1) Donahue  2) Scott Payea  3) Eric Williams  4) Patrick Laperle  5) Phil Scott


ASA Late Model, Northern Series - Wheaton, Illinois veteran, Eddie Hoffman completed the clean sweep of racing events at his home track of Grundy County Speedway on Sunday, May 25, 2008!

The 48-year-old driver in his Lisa Thomas Salon Ford Fusion started the day off by breaking the track record in ARP Bodies / Aluminum Racing Products Qualifying. He then established the track record and won the Illini 50 in the USPRO Cup Series portion of the weekend!

All that was left was the 10th annual George Appleton Memorial 125 and the three-time winner of the Appleton Memorial delivered as he notched win number four in the prestigious race that honors Appleton Rack and Pinions Founder, George Appleton while also winning Two Features on the same day at his home track!  1) Hoffman  2) Robbie Pyle  3) Anthony Danta  4) Brian Moffit  5) Mike Heiss

ASA Modifieds - “Hometown hero”, Brian King from nearby Gibsonville, NC showed why all those laps at Ace Speedway in other divisions pay dividends in the end Friday night at the 4/10 mile track as he put an old fashioned thrashing on a field of 23 ASA Southern Modified Race Tour competitors.  1) King  2) LW Miller  3) Jason Myers  4) Rodney King  5) Brandon Ward

Blizzard Series Super Late Models - The Super Late Model Blizzard Series race at Five Flags Speedway was postponed Friday night because of heavy rains and lightning

The race, along with Super Stock, Sportsman and Bomber features, has been rescheduled for next Friday, May 30.

It started raining at 6 p.m.  and continued lightning made it a concern for the safety of drivers, crews and fans.

Carquest Pro Stock (SLM) Tour - Shawn Turple won the Lucas Oil 100 at Scotia Speedworld (NS), located near the Halifax International Airport on Saturday night. Turple took the lead on lap 80 to take the first Halcraft Print Checkered Flag of the season on the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour. Dave O’Blenis finished second, ahead of Mike MacKenzie, Brad Mann and Wayne Smith - who rounded out the top five.

ISMA Supermodifieds - Chris Perley, AKA “The Rowley Rocket” of Rowley, MA. put on a stellar performance in winning the 50-lap International SuperModified Association season-opener at the Waterford Speedbowl on Saturday evening. In doing so, he recorded the fastest average lap-ever (over 108 mph), in the 57-year history of the facility.   1) Perley  2) Jeff Holbrook  3) Rob Summers  4) Ray Graham Jr.  5) Bobby Bond

Late Models - Bill Whorff, Jr. was the victor in the $10,000 to win Coastal 200 Late Model race on Sunday at Wiscasset Raceway (ME).  1) Whorff  2) Darren Ripley  3) TJ Watson  4) Joey Doiron  5) Josh St. Clair

Miller Lite Super Late Model Series - Chris Davidson won Saturday night's Miller Lite SLM victory at Mobile International Speedway.  1) Davidson  2) Jeff Choquette  3) Jeff Fultz  4) Eddie Mercer  5) Donald Long

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series - The 2008 season began just like the 2007 one ended – with Scott Steckly (No. 22 Tow Truck In A Box/Erb Group Dodge) in victory lane.

In the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Sirius Satellite Radio season opener, Steckly was able to hold off a hard-charging Kerry Micks (No. 02 Beyond Digital Imaging Ford), who used a different pit strategy than the rest of the field, to win the Crown Jewel 200 at Cayuga Motor Speedway (ON).  1) Steckley  2) Miks  3) Ron Beauchamp, Jr.  4) Mark Dilley  5) Peter Gibbons,

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour - Chuck Hossfeld piloted the No. 4 Mystic Missile Dodge to Victory Lane in the third NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event of the season Friday night in the TSI Harley-Davidson 150 at Stafford Motor Speedway.

In a race that was delayed nearly two and a half hours, Hossfeld won for the first time since the 2004 season. Hossfeld also won the race Donny Lia did in the No. 4 last year en route to the championship.

The victory was the sixth of Hossfeld's career. Each of his previous wins came in the No. 4 in his first stint with car owner Bob Garbarino, which ended after 2004. Hossfeld rejoined the team in the offseason after Lia left to run in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series.  1) Hossfeld  2) Todd Szegedy  3) Ted Christopher  4) Mike Stefanik  5) Jimmy Blewett


PASS North Super Late Models - Ben Rowe won Saturday night's PASS North feature at White Mountain Motorsports Pakr (NH). Rowe was able to preserve his equipment and make a lap 114 outside charge on Cassius Clark to win the 150 lap Pro All Stars Series (PASS) feature.  1) Ben Rowe  2) Cassius Clark  3) John Flemming  4) Mike Rowe  5) Richie Dearborn

RoC Modifieds - Matt Hirschman started on the pole at Oswego Speedway and never looked back. Hirschman led all 100 laps around the New York Track to take home the ROC Modified Tour win. He was followed across the line by veteran Jan Leaty, New Jersey driver Tommy Farrell III, Sege Fidanza and Pete Brittain.

True Value Modified Racing Series - Kirk Alexander won Sunday's True Value Modified Racing Series event at Thunder Road Speedbowl (VT).  It was the first time since 1965 that Mods had raced at the track.  1) Alexander  2) Dwight Jarvis  3) Peter Jarvis  4) Ed Dauchenhausen 5) Chris Pasteryak.