51's Weekend Update
Who Won and What Happened
ACT Late Models - American-Canadian Tour Late Model stock car driver Jean-Paul Cyr of Milton, VT ended a winless streak that dated back to August 2006 with a thrilling victory in the 34th Annual Furniture World of Vermont Spring Green 100 at Plattsburgh, NY’s Airborne Speedway on Saturday night. Cyr started eighth on the 31-car grid and quickly made his way toward the front of the pack. He benefited from a lap 65 spin involving leaders Donald Theetge and Patrick Laperle to take command, and led all but one of the remaining circuits to take the win.

Cyr first held off hard-charging ACT Late Model Tour rookie Jonathan Urlin of London, ON, then Groveton, NH veteran Randy Potter as Urlin lost his brakes with ten laps to go. Potter nosed ahead of Cyr on the outside lane to lead lap 94, but had to settle for second place. Laperle, of Montreal, made an amazing recovery from the rear of the field to steal third place at the finish by inches over Turner, ME’s Glen Luce. Luce’s finish was the best of his career. Unofficial point leader Scott Payea of Milton, VT drove from 25th starting position to finish fifth.

ARCA RE/MAX Series - Rookie of the Year leader Matt Carter looked more like an ARCA RE/MAX Series championship contender Sunday afternoon at Toledo Speedway.

Carter, in Larry Clement's no. 46 Hantz Group-NuSouth Lemonade-Stine Seed Ford, survived several late-race restarts including a one-lap dash to the checkered flag to win the grueling Hantz Group 200 by Federated Car Care, becoming the seventh different winner in as many races this season. 1) Carter  2) Patrick Sheltra  3) Dexter Bean  4) Justin Allgaier  5) David Ragan

ASA Late Model Challenge Series - Current ASALMS Challenge Division Points Leader, Sean Murphy became the second driver in as many weeks to three-peat in Feature Wins as the Fort Lauderdale, Florida driver picked up his third straight ASALMS Challenge Division Feature Win after a thrilling dual with Peter Cozzolino.

Murphy, in his ASI Limited Chevrolet, overcame several pit stops early in the race to repair cosmetic damage to the passenger side of his SS/Green Light Racing machine and picked his way back through the field and took the lead on Lap 145 from Cozzolino to score the win.  1) Murphy  2) Cozzolino  3) Brian Campbell  4) Jacob Goede  5) Kyle Sirizzotti

ASA Midwest Tour - It has been a tough start to the 2008 season for Jonathan Eilen and it appeared that streak would continue. But, luck would turn around for him as he would capture the Kwik Trip Stores 100 ASA Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by ECHO Outdoor Power Equipment event at Jefferson Speedway in Cambridge, WI.  1)Eilen  2) Jamie Iverson  3) Andrew Morrisey  4) Dan Fredrickson  5) Blake Horstman

Bright House Challenge - B.J. McLeod won the Bright House Challenge Series feature at New Smyrna Speedway (FL) Saturday night.  1) McLeod  2) Dustin Skinner  3) C.J. Calabrese  4) Jared Allison  5) Dusty Cornelius

CRA Super Series – Scott Hantz set fast time, then got to the front and stayed there winning the CRA Super Sunday 100 presented by Dietsch Sales and Service & Klotz Lubricants at Baer Field Speedway (IN).  Jeff Cannon started on the outside of the front row and seized the lead at the beginning, Jason Dietsch slipped under him on the eighth lap and led until Hantz drove past on lap 20.
1) Hantz  2) Dietsch  3) Jeff Lane  4) Boris Jurkovic  5) Rick Turner

NASCAR Camping World Series – Brian Ickler packed his bags in December and moved to North Carolina, starting from scratch in the hub of NASCAR in an effort to further his career.

The payoff for the 22-year-old San Diego native came Sunday when he drove his family-owned No. 15 Ickler Motorsports Chevrolet to Victory Lane in the US Cellular 200 at Iowa Speedway. To get there, Ickler had to out-race a field full of the top drivers in the NASCAR Camping World Series, as well as NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Kasey Kahne – less than 24-hours removed from his own victory in the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Challenge at Lowe's Motor Speedway in Charlotte, N.C.   1) Ickler  2) Marc Davis  3) Kasey Kahne  4) Trevor Bayne  5) Jeffrey Earnhardt

PASS North – Two time Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Champion Johnny Clark led all but lap one of the Ray Haskell Ford 125 at Wiscassett Speedway Sunday afternoon to record his first PASS victory of 2008. The Hallowell, Maine ace continued his dominance at the coastal oval where he’s been a winner in three of the past four PASS sanctioned Super Late Model events. Travis Benjamin gave Clark all he could handle though, looking for a way around and under Clark for nearly 100 laps. Benjamin had to settle for second by less than a car length at the checkers.  1) Clark  2) Benjamin  3) Ben Rowe  4) Cassius Clark  5) Adam Bates

Pro Challenge - For the first 25 laps of the 30-lap Pro Challenge Series race at Bristol Motor Speedway (TN), Terry Horak was the dominant force.  Horak led from the drop of the green flag, but when third-place Trevor Edwards broke, bringing out the caution flag, Horak's straightaway-length lead was nullified.  On the restart, Horak had to hold off Devon Haun on his outside and J.L. Snowden on his rear bumper for his first-ever Pro Challenge Series victory.  Snowden got by Haun on that final restart to claim second.  1) Horak  2) Snowden  3) Haun  4) Kyle Wilson  5) Chris Brown


SUPER CUP - Daniel Johnson of Midland NC took the lead on lap 10 and won Saturday night's Super Cup Series race at Franklin County Speedway in Callaway VA, the third stop on the series schedule.  1) Johnson  2) Todd Peck  3) Larry Wilcox  4) Ryan Miller  5) Megan Reitenour

UARA-STARS - Matt DiBenedetto called his battle with Alex Yontz “the hardest I've ever driven.”  Saturday night in the Thompson Metals 150, DiBenedetto’s hardest was just hard enough.  The 16-year-old DiBenedetto passed early dominator Yontz on a lap 128 restart and withstood Yontz’s challenge over a final restart to claim his third-career UARA victory.  1) DiBenedetto  2) Yontz  3) Cliff Daniels  4) Darrell Wallace, Jr.  5) Caleb Holman