51's Weekend Update
Who Won and What Happened
ACT Late Models – Home track stock car favorite Ricky Rolfe of Albany Twp., ME held off a fast-closing Jean-Paul Cyr to win
the American-Canadian Tour (ACT) New England Dodge Dealers 150 at Oxford Plains Speedway (ME) on Saturday.  Cyr’s late charge was enough to bring him alongside Rolfe’s Race Basics/Swasey Excavation #51 Ford with less than ten laps remaining, but the former track champion won by about two car lengths.  1) Rolfe  2) Cyr  3) Brent Dragon  4) Eddie MacDonald  5) John Donahue

ARCA RE/MAX Series – ARCA RE/MAX Series rookie Scott Speed, with an assist from the Aaron's Lucky Dog, won the Kansas Lottery $150 Grand Friday afternoon at Kansas Speedway.

Speed, in the No. 2 Red Bull Toyota, battled back from a lap down, blew by rookie Jesse Smith on a late-race restart with six laps remaining, and then kept Roush Fenway Racing's Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. at bay to claim his career-first victory in his fifth career series start.

ASA Late Model Challenge Series – Sean Murphy in his ASI Limited Chevrolet took the lead on Lap 141 from Jacob Goede and would go on to score the win in the O'Reilly Auto Parts / ASI Limited 200 Presented by GunBroker.com at O'Reilly Raceway Park near Indianapolis.  1) Murphy  2) Jacob Goede  3) Peter Cozzolino  4) Eddie Hoffman  5) Derek Thorn

ASA Late Model Series, Northern Division – On Friday night, Wheaton, Illinois veteran, Eddie Hoffman passed 2007 ASA Late Model Series Northern Division Champion, Trent Snyder on Lap 61 and held off the defending series Champion to win his first feature of the 2008 season and his 10th career ASALMS triumph.  1) Hoffman  2) Trent Snyder  3) Jesse Saunders  4) Derek Neville  5) Alec Carll

Birmingham Super Series - Ken McFarland continued his dominance at Brimingham International Raceway and won again in the Birmingham Super Series again on Saturday night.  1) McFarland  2) John Bolen  3)  Gary Sanford Jr.  4) Justin South 5) Josh Belter

CRA Super Series - Scott Hantz started on the pole of the Manning Service 100 at Winchester Speedway (IN), chased Jeff Lane for the first 47 laps, racing side by side with him for several laps, before a near spin by a car about to lapped caused Lane to slow just enough to let him get by.  Hantz then seemed to have the race in hand while several cars battled behind him for second, with Boris Jurkovic using the inside lane to pass several cars to move up to second from his ninth starting position.  1) Hantz  2) Jurkovic  3) Jason Dietsch 4) JR Roahrig 5) Zach Taylor

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour – Ted Christopher took the checkered flag in the 37th Annual CARQUEST Tech-Net Spring Sizzler for his fourth career Spring Sizzler victory, a victory that ties him with Mike Stefanik for the most career Sizzler wins.  Christopher has previously won the Spring Sizzler in 1988, 2002, and 2003.

Ryan Preece, driving for the same Boehler Racing Enterprises team that won the Inaugural Tech-Net Spring Sizzler in 1972 with Fred DeSarro behind the wheel, appeared to be well on his way into the Stafford record books with a perfect CARQUEST Tech-Net Spring Sizzler Weekend.

Preece set fast time in Saturday’s Whelen Modified Tour practice session and then won the pole position for today’s race.  After the pole redraw, Preece started the race from the 7th position, but it took him only 28 laps to work his way by pole sitter Rob Summers for the race lead.  Preece had the race under his control, comfortably keeping his car out front until a blown engine took him out of the race on lap-91.


PASS South Super Late Model – Perry Brown led all but a handful of laps to capture the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) South win in Saturday night’s Watermelon 125 at Watermelon Capital Speedway in Cordele, Georgia. It was the Riverview Florida driver’s first visit to PASS South victory lane.  1) Brown  2) Bubba Pollard  3) Ryan Seig  4) David Ragan  5) Michael Pope


SRL - Veteran Jim Pettit II withstood the closing charge of track-master Rip Michels to win the first ever Flashco SRL Southwest Tour Anderson Windows & Doors 100-lap feature Saturday on the banked, half-mile Toyota Speedway at Irwindale.

Sunbelt Super Late Model Series – Saturday Night's Sunbelt Series Super Late Model race at New Smyrna Speedway (FL) was won by Jeff Choquette.  1) Choquette  2)  Justin Drawdy  3) Jeremy Colangelo  4) Justin Larson   5) Daniel Webster 

True Value Modified Racing Series – Kirk Alexander, starting last in a 26 car field, passed race leader Rob Goodenough on lap 86 to go on and win the “Bond Auto 100” Saturday night at the Monadnock Speedway, Winchester, NH. The win was Alexander’s second consecutive victory and his 28th career win in True Value Modified Racing Series action. Goodenough, David Pinkham, Dwight Jarvis, and Peter Jarvis, rounded out the top five.

UARA-STARS Late Models - Jamie Yelton won Saturday night's show at Orange County Speedway (NC).  1) Yelton  2) Richard Boswell, III  3) Jake Crum  4) Jamey Caudill  5) BJ Mackey 

USAR Hooters Pro Cup Series - Michael Ritch won Saturday's rain-shortened USAR Hooters Pro Cup race at Concord Motorsport Park (NC).  1) Ritch  2) Trevor Bayne  3) Carl Long  4) Mark McFarland  5) Clay Rogers