Speed51.com's Weekend Update
Catch Up With Who Has Been Winning Where This Weekend
Last Updated: Sunday, 11/16, 10:15am

ARCA Trucks - For the second time in his motor sports career, Canton, Michigan’s Paul Hahn took center stage at the Park Inn in Downtown, Toledo, Ohio, on Saturday night where he was honored as the 2008 ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series Champion.

Hahn earned seven race victories, 13 top-5 finishes, 13 top-10 finishes and six 2BKool Pole Awards over the course of the 14-race season schedule. In addition to the 2008 ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series title, Hahn earned year-end awards for the RE Lightning Challenge, the Bilstein Most Laps Led and the ARCA 2BKool Pole Award.

Hahn's father Rick was awarded the Cometic Crew Chief of the Year Award while Rex Cronenwett and Steve Dygert were recognized on stage for their rolls with the championship winning team. Earl Bonner earned Mallory Engine Builder of the Year honors.

The Casite Rookie of the Year Award went to Kenny Kirsch, Jr.  Jim Clarke, ARCA’s retiring Vice President of Special Projects, received the Golden Circle Award for his involvement and dedication to the regional truck tour. The Golden Circle Award is presented annually to an individual or entity whose positive efforts have elevated ARCA’s motor sports stature to the benefit of all associated.  The 2008 Spirit Award was presented to Ed Yoak.

Other special award recipients included Bazell Race Fuels Sportsman of the Year Paul Young, Stoner Car Care Products Best Appearing Truck Robbin Slaughter and Holley Performance Most Improved Driver Ash Hawkins. The No. 52 Kirsch’s Automotive Center Chevrolet Team was named the G-Force Best Dressed Crew.

ASA Late Model Challenge Series - Steve Carlson ran away with the ASA Late Model Series Kings Ransom 300 at the Memphis Motorsports Park (TN).  Carlson held off Sean Murphy from grabbing the $100,000 O'Reilly's Triple Crown Challenge.  Murphy finished second with Blake Brown, pole sitter Robbie Pyle and Michael Bidlerback rounded out the top five.

NASCAR stars Erik Darnell and Stephen Leicht both had problems and did not finish the race.

Brighthouse Challenge Super Late Model Series - Wayne Anderson won Saturday night's Marion Edwards Memorial, Bright House, Noritz/Tempaco, Orlando Dodge, Sunoco Super Late Model 75 at New Smyrna Speedway (FL).

1) Anderson  2)  Tim Russell  3) Matt Bowers  4) Brian Finney  5) Dave Pletcher 

IMCA Modifieds - With 219 cars in the pits, David Murray Jr. of Oberlin, Kans., won the 11th annual Duel in the Desert Saturday night at the Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.  While it is true that Murray pretty much dominated the event, the pace behind him was furious and frantic as cars often raced three-and-four-wide around the 12-year-old  half-mile dirt oval.

Murray, the 2003 winner of this race, started the 28-car, 40-lap feature from the pole position, flanked on the front row by Paul Stone. The green flag flew and the fracas began, with the field racing four-wide out of Turn 4 to wrestle for the lead of the first lap. Stacey Mills charged from fourth place and grabbed the lead just as the first lap was recorded. He led the field for a handful of laps until he jumped the cushion on the back straightaway and relinquished the lead to Murray.

A car spun in Turn 2 and as the caution flag flew, four cars piled up in Turn 3. The race restarted with Murray in the lead, followed by Ed Martin and Mills.  Martin and Murray battled side-by-side for a pair of laps until Murray was able to assume command on lap 10.  Ricky Alvarado found speed at the top of the three-groove track and challenged Martin for second on lap 12 as Murray pulled away from the field.

The caution flag flew again on lap 14 for a spin by Travis Metz. Murray led the pack on the ensuing restart followed again by Martin and Alvarado. The first three cars ran the high side of the track as Murray motored away from his competition. On lap 19, Alvarado tried the lower groove and began racing side-by-side with Martin for second. The thrilling battle was short-lived, however, as disaster struck in the form of an expired engine on Alvarado’s car and he wound up sitting backwards on the track at the exit of Turn 2 with the field bearing down on him. Everyone managed to miss Alvarado – who had raced an extra 20 laps tonight by competing in the Wild West Modified Shootout – and his disabled car was towed to the pits.

The race resumed on lap 20 and so did Murray’s romp. Meanwhile, Martin, who won the 2007 Duel in Desert, had his hands full with Brad Pounds as the pair raced close to the retaining wall. With 10 laps remaining, Reese Coffee, Johnny “The Jet” Saathoff and Jeremy Mills joined the battle for second place.  Murray left the five-car battle for second place in his wake as he negotiated lapped traffic and Saathoff passed Martin and Pounds to take second place on lap 38.

Murray went on to win his second Duel in the Desert and $5,000 paycheck while Saathoff claimed second and Pounds finished third. Martin, who held second place for most of the event, was forced to settle for fourth place. Mills, who started fourth, finished fifth.