Speed51.com's Weekend Update
Catch Up With Who Has Been Winning Where This Weekend
Last Updated: Monday 10-27, 8:30am

FASACR Late Model Challenge Series - For the seventh time in the last eight races, Daniel Keene, Jr. has won in the FASCAR Late Model Challenge Series.  His lastest victory came Saturday night at New Smyrna Speedway.  1) Keene  2) Rich Clouser   3) Jeremy Colangelo  4) Jessica Murphy   5) Doug Moff

Modifieds - Mike Stefanik won the Modified portion of the All-Star Nationals at All-Star Speedway (NH) on Saturday night.

NASCAR Camping World West Series - Eric Holmes and Jason Bowles waged a fierce battle all year in the NASCAR Camping World Series West. They closed out the season with another tough tussle in the Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150 at All American Speedway on Saturday, with Bowles coming away with the win and Holmes taking the championship.

Holmes, who came into the event needing only to finish 13th or better to secure the title, was not content to put it on cruise control. He battled his teammate, newcomer Paulie Harraka, back-and-forth through much of the race. Once out front, Holmes had to contend with Bowles on his back bumper. Contact between the two on lap 148 left Holmes spinning in turn 4 and Bowles taking the lead.

Bowles charged on to victory, with 2007 series champion Mike David taking the runner-up spot and Moses Smith scoring a career-best third-place finish. Todd Souza took fourth, while Holmes recovered for fifth.

It marks his second title in three years for Holmes, adding to his 2006 championship. With the win, meanwhile, Bowles pulled even with Holmes – with four wins each this year. They also had an equal number of Coors Light Pole Awards this season – with five each.

PASS South - Johnny Clark turned in a dominant performance Saturday night at  Virginia’s South Boston Speedway to win the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) South  250 lap season finale. It was the 2008 PASS North champion’s first win in the South series and Clark’s fourth checkered flag in his last eight PASS super late model starts.

Clark beat Jeff Fultz to the line by a margin of 2.223 seconds.  Cassius Clark raced home third with Trevor Sanborn in the fourth spot and Randy Porter fifth. DJ Shaw, Kelly Moore, Ryan Blaney, Lonnie Sommerville and Corey Williams finished sixth through tenth.  The top eight finished on the lead lap.

Alex Haase ‘s Kyle Busch Foundation Toyota looked like a  super late model “cutaway” car after 250 laps, but the eighteen year old’s twelfth place finish was enough to clinch the PASS South super late model Championship for the Las Vegas Nevada native that now calls North Carolina home. Haase earned three race wins, six top five and nine top ten finishes in twelve PASS South starts on his way to the title.


Sunbelt Super Late Model Series - Friday night's Sunbelt Series Super Late Model race at Orlando Speedworld (FL) was postponed by rain.  The event has been rescheduled to New Smyrna Speedway (FL) for November 15th

Super Late Models - Eric Hudson won the rain-shortened Super Late Model portion of the All-Star Nationals at All-Star Speedway (NH) on Saturday night.

Super Late Models - The Long John 150 at Unity Raceway (ME) has been postponed by bad weather until next weekend.  The season-ending race will now take place on November 2nd.

True Value Modified Racing Series - Matt Hirschman won Sunday's Ricky Miller Memorial 100 at Twin State Speedway (NH), while Chris Pasteryak clinched the 2008 True Value Modified Racing Series championship by finishing seventh.  1) Hirschman  2) Dwight Jarvis 3) Kirk Alexander  4) Jon McKennedy 5) Rob Goodenough

UARA-STARS Late Models - Matt DiBenedetto took the lead on lap 12 of the UARA-Stars LMSC tour's season finale Saturday night and never looked back, earning his second UARA victory of the season.  DiBenedetto took over the top spot when former USAR Pro Cup and Concord LMSC Champion Clay Rogers blew the motor on his #52 car while leading.  Once out front, DiBenedetto held off the challenges of Brandon McReynolds early and former Concord regular Chad Mullis late to score the victory.  1)  DiBenedetto  2) Mullis  3) McReynolds  4) Alex Yontz  5) Corey LaJoie

Going into Saturday's finale, Jake Crum held a slim 35 point lead over Alex Yontz for the title.  Yontz ran inside the top-five the entire night, while Crum was involved in several on-track incidents.  With fenders flapping in the breeze in the final laps, Crum was still able to score a 10th-place finish to earn his first UARA Championship. Darrell Wallace, Jr., who like Crum had a damaged racecar at the checkered flag, earned the Rookie of the Year title over McReynolds.

Speed51.com was on site at Concord and will have a full recap of the race and the title fight soon.

UPDATE (10-26-08) - Matt DiBenedetto has been disqualified from his Concord victory by UARA-STARS officials.  Chad Mullis is now credited with the race victory.