Speed51.com's Weekend Update
Catch Up With Who Has Been Winning Where This Weekend
Last Updated: Monday, 10-20, 10:30am

ASA Late Model South - Colt James did all that he could do in his championship quest on Saturday night by winning at Charlotte County Motorsports Park (FL), but came up short when his competition also had a good night.  Jimmy Lang's third-place finish locked up the 2008 series title for that young driver.  Meanwhile, second-place finisher Justin Larson locked down the Rookie of the Year title.

1) James  2) Larson  3) Lang  4) Chad Pierce  5) Brian Blum

ASA Southeast Asphalt Tour - For the third straight race, Jason Hogan won in RC Cola / MoonPie ASA Southeast Asphalt Tour competition.  His latest victory came on Saturday night at Watermelon Capital Speedway (GA).  Jay Middleton had already clinched the 2008 Series championship.


Bright House SLM - Dalton Zehr won the 50-lap Super Late Model race at Orlando SpeedWorld on Friday night.  Series point leader Tim Russell finished sixth.

1) Zehr  2) Jeremy Colangelo 3) Rich Clouser  4) Martin Pierce  5) Jason Vail

CRA Super Series - A familiar name was in the winner's circle at The Boyne at Berlin 125, but this time it was not Fred Campbell a three time CRA Super Series winner at Berlin Raceway (MI).  This time it was his son Brian Campbell, who ran out in front of the crowd of cars that he navigated carefully to take the lead on the 95th lap over Johnny VanDoorn.  Van Doorn had taken the lead on a bold move around Robbie Pyle and Campbell on the 80th lap while all were bunched up behind cars they were trying lap. 

VanDoorn then held the lead until he had a wheel crack which slowed him and sent him to sixth place finish.  Scott Hantz finished second, Robbie Pyle third, Chris Anthony fourth and Andy Ponstein fifth.

DIRT Modifieds - Anyone attending Eastern States Weekend at Orange County Fair Speedway one year ago may have experienced deja-vu all over again on Saturday afternoon as Brett Hearn won his second straight Mr. DIRTcar 358-Modified Championship in almost identical fashion.

Last October the Sussex, New Jersey star started fourth and took the lead on lap nine en route to a convincing victory. Yesterday, Hearn began inside row two and blasted by pole-sitter Jerry Higbie on a lap eight restart with the same result --- a $7,500 payday and another dominating performance at the historic ‘Hard Clay’ oval. Oh yes, last year’s winning car was back in the picture again as young talent Michael Storms steered it to a fifth-place finish in the Orange County Small-Block finale.

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour - As one of the most accomplished short-track racers in NASCAR, Ted Christopher had nearly done it all. Christopher filled in the biggest remaining gap in his resume Sunday at Thompson International Speedway when he wrapped up his first NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship in grand style.

Christopher (No. 36 Al-Lee Installations Chevrolet) won the Xtra Mart World Series 150, the final race of the season, to earn the title by 127 points over runner-up Matt Hirschman. Hirschman (No. 59 Furnace & Duct Supply Chevrolet) finished 25th on Sunday.

Christopher's title was virtually wrapped up when Hirschman suddenly slowed on lap 118 after battling for third place. Hischman came down pit road five laps later, while Christopher was running in the top five on the track. Hirschman's crew pushed the car behind the wall a short time later, effectively allowing Christopher to clinch his championship. Christopher passed Ronnie Silk on lap 135 for the lead following a late-race restart and cruised to the win and the title.

Chuck Hossfeld, Ronnie Silk, Doug Coby and rookie Erick Rudolph rounded out the top five.

PASS South - Alex Haase drove under Justin Wakefield in the closing laps of Saturday’s Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Howler 150 super late model feature at Greenville-Pickens Speedway to capture his third PASS victory of 2008 in his #51 Kyle Busch Foundation Toyota Camry.Haase edged out Warner New Hampshire’s Adam Bates and Goldsboro North Carolina’s Jeff Fultz for the victory. Trey Mitchell and Toby Porter rounded out the top five. Haase swept both PASS South events at Greenville-Pickens in 2008.

Cassius Clark pulled the number one spot in the top ten redraw to start the race from the pole. Clark and his fellow PASS National Championship contender John Stancill got together on lap 90, ending Clark’s night. Although Stancill continued on for an eighth place finish, Clark’s finishes in the first three National Championship rounds were enough to top Stancill for the inaugural PASS National title.

Haase’s win, coupled with  a 22nd place finish by Corey Williams unofficially puts Haase on top of the PASS South standings as the series heads into its final events of 2008.


Pro Challenge - Clint King extended his national point lead in the Pro Challenge Playoffs with a green-to-checker victory at Orlando Speedworld (FL). King held off Kyle Plott, who challenged King late, and leading Rookie of the Year contender Kyle Wilson for the victory.  Meghan Dillner fouught back from the rear of the field mid-race to finish fourth.

1) King  2) Plott  3) Wilson  4) Dillner  5) Brandon Williamson

UARA-STARS Late Models - Darrell Wallace Jr. won Saturday night's Marlowe Memorial 150 at Caraway Speedway (NC)

1) Wallace  2) Alex Yontz  3) Matt DiBenedetto  4) B.J. Mackey5) Jamey Caudill

USAR Hooters Pro Cup - Jay Fogleman has won the rain-postponed Aaron’s 250 at Southern National Raceway Park (NC) on Sunday.

1) Fogleman  2) James Buescher  3) Gary St. Amant  4) Mark McFarland  5) A.J. Frank

Viper Series (Pro Late Model) - Augie Grill made it three straight wins at South Alabama Speedway with his win in the Alabama 200.  Grill in the last 18 months has won the Snowball Derby, The Rattler 250 and the Alabama 200, I career run in it's self.   Viper Pro Late Model Series Champion David Hodges finished fifth, locking up the title.

Results  1) Grill  2) Andy Pugh 3)  Ronnie Sanders  4) Brandon Odom  5)  David Hodges Jr