Yelton Takes Early Lead at Orange County and Doesn't Look Back
Holds Off Boswell to Win in UARA-STARS Competition
Jamie Yelton had that number eight machine flying and claimed the 150 Saturday April 26th at Orange County Speedway.

Young gun Brandon McReynolds was winner of the heat race and transferred into the main event along with Bobby Measmer, Jr., Nick Pope and Kyle Moon.
Richard Boswell II claimed the Sunoco Pole followed by Jamie Yelton with the KLB Race Cars & Parts outside pole.  The field takes the green and the action is fierce right away.  They come down thru turns three and four three deep on lap three. Coming out of four the real estate appears to be to small and Paddy Rodenbeck finds himself going over the left front of the Scott Andrews, Jr's. car taking Justin Boston along with them.

Boswell has the lead followed by Yelton, B.J. Mackey, Alex Yontz, Jake Crum, Rodenbeck, Darrell Wallace, Jr., Jamey Caudill, Andrew Carlsen and Thomas Hartensveld rounding out the top ten on lap 15.

Yelton starts working on Boswell and claims the lead on lap 18.  Back in the pack Measmer puts the moves on Joey Bryant for position.  Ryan Robertson spins in the one and two turns bringing out caution 2 on lap 20.

Yelton continues to lead Boswell, Yontz, Mackey and Crum while action is taking place all over the field.  Wallace and Caudill are giving Crum a run for the money with Ross Furr who started 16th showing muscle as well.
Caution three flies when Measmer slowed in the first turn.  He then continued on.  Race director Scott Walker awards him with a stop and go penalty for this move.

Back to green and more action as Curtis Truex, Jr. is making the move on teammate Jamey Caudill.  He eventually passes Caudill for 7th.  The JR Motorsports cars really have it going today.  The Brian Conforth car appears to be slowing for a lap then gets back on the go.  Wallace passes Crum for fifth with Truex in hot pursuit as well.  One lap later Crum sees the Truex car's back bumper as the pass is done.  At this time the Yontz car is also passing Boswell for second.

A few laps later Mackey passes Boswell for third.  Yontz is right on Yelton wanting that lead and Wallace is hard pressed to pass Boswell.  Wallace gets a little loose and Truex gets under him. They do the side by side thing a while and three laps later Truex gains the spot.

Yelton claims the Mel's Ignition half way award and then four laps later “the big one” happens for caution four.  With the field running three deep on several occasions this time didn't pay off.  Justin Boston, Ross Furr, Scott Turlington, Andrew Carlsen, Shaun Mangum, Nick Pope, Measmer, Brandon McReynolds and Garrett Campbell all end up either in a heap in the fourth turn or stopped short of the heap.  Boston and Pope will be the worse for wear when this is all cleaned up.  Furr had heavy damage but will manage to continue on.

The leaders were coming up fast on this group when the wreck happened and many were lapped while waiting to get down around the pileup.  Thomas Hartensveld had managed to make it down to the bottom and on around but Campbell and McReynolds were stopped up against the wall as the leaders came down around the apron at this time.

In the heat of things Pope heads toward the Furr pit then heads back to his own.

When the field goes back to green Yelton leads Mackey, Truex, Boswell and Wallace.  A few laps later Truex pass Mackey for second.  Next Boswell passes Mackey dropping him back to fourth.  Yelton has a good lead going.

Within the next ten laps Wallace and Mackey do the side by side dance then Wallace takes the spot followed by Caudill.  Then Caudill passes Wallace followed by Mackey.  Jake Crum puts the move on Wallace a couple of laps later.  Crum then passes Mackey followed by Wallace.  Alex Yontz likes all this excitement and decides to join the fun.  Yontz passes Mackey and Wallace.  Next Mackey passes Wallace.  Yontz is having so much fun now he passes Crum as well.  Man oh man, I am having a hard time keeping up with this bunch.
Definitely a nail biting, edge of the seat type of show going on here.

Caution five flies as Casey Holt spins in the one and two turn along with Joey Miller, Kyle Moon and Ryan Robertson.  Moon and Robertson will come out with the most damage in this circumstance.  Some way or another in which I didn't see the Truex car comes around with damage evidently when the car in front of him slowed more than him to avoid these spinning cars.

Yelton continues to lead with Boswell, Caudill, Yontz and Crum running as the top five on lap 133.  Boswell is doing some serious rubbing with Yelton's rear bumper but Yelton maintains the spot.  Caution six flies on lap 138 as the three deep thing goes on again and Yontz  spins after contact with Clay Greenfield.

The field retakes the green on lap 144 and Yelton sails home to a victory in the 150.

This will go down as one of the most fierce racing events that I have seen.  The action was non-stop all day long throught the field.  Coming home for the checker Casey Holt spins out in turn four. He refires his car however and manages to bring it on down for the checker.

Darrell Wallace, Jr. will land the Melling Select Rookie of the Race award.

Brandon McReynolds being awarded the Holley Performer of the Race for the second time running.   Alex Yontz will be the ARP Hard Luck driver after coming from a 16th starting position, spinning out and having a flat tire all in one event.  Jamie Yelton will claim the Sonic Most laps lead and the RE Suspension winner of the race award.  Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race award will go to Kevin Blank.

Results - UARA-STARS Series at Orange County Speedway (NC) 

  1. Jamie Yelton
  2. Richard Boswell II
  3. Jake Crum
  4. Jamey Caudill
  5. B.J. Mackey
  6. Alex Yontz
  7. Roger Lee Newton
  8. Curtis Truex, Jr.
  9. Clay Greenfield
10. Darrell Wallace, Jr.
11. Thomas Hartensveld
12. Scott Turlington
13. Garrett Campbell
14. Brandon McReynolds
15. Joey Bryant
16. Shaun Mangum
17. Ross Furr
18. Joey Miller
19. Casey Holt
20. Andrew Carlsen
21. Kyle Moon
22. Ryan Robertson
23. Paddy Rodenbeck
24. Brian Conforth
25. Bobby Measmer, Jr.
26. Nick Pope
27. Justin Boston
28. Scott Andrews, Jr.
HR  Dillon Smith
HR Bryan Dauzat
HR Anthony Anders

Jamie Yelton in victory lane at Orange County.  (UARA Photo)