Terry Senneker Wins The Kalmazoo Klash From Kalamazoo Speedway PR
Great Finish Puts Wraps on the 16th Annual Race
The Kalamazoo Speedway played host to the 16th Annual Kalamazoo Klash that saw the best finish in Klash history in a long time. This event was started 16 years ago by Bobby and Marty Jones in which the Howe family has grown it into the Midwest Showcase of Outlaw Late Model racing that has seen NASCAR stars such as Adam Petty, David Stremme, Johnny Benson, Kenny Schrader, and Matt Kenseth race this star studded event.
Steve Needles threaded the needle in qualifying with a blistering lap of 12.682 at 106.450 MPH besting 52 of the best Outlaw Late Models in the Midwest. This was one of the quickest fields in Klash history that saw 19 cars break into the 12 second bracket. John Delarye was the last car to lock in through the qualifying into the Klash field being the 22nd quickest car on the property. Some big names didn’t make it through qualifying such as Phil Bozell, Brandon Lyons, Randy Day, Summer Sizzler winner Jeff Ganus, and M-40 Speedway Late Model Jones winner Doug True.  Phil Bozell ended up with a provisional with being the highest in points in the Klash Super Series. Brandon Lyons picked up a provisional with being the highest in Kalamazoo Speedway points not making the show. The “Hurricane” Scott Hantz made the show on the fans vote.

The first race on the track was the Klash B feature that some big names in this race. Galesburg Speedway driver Chuck Greer got out to the lead in the 50 lap feature. Chuck was passed by hard charging Buddy Head for the race lead. Buddy held on to take a very emotional win as it was his first feature win at the Klash ending years of hard luck including breaking his neck around 10 years ago. Buddy was followed by Dave Lober,
Chuck Greer, Matt Corliss, Randy Day, Doug True, Doug Rodanhisler, Bobby Stremme, Ron Coburn, and Rick Senneker rounding out the top 10. With the feature win Buddy took the last provisional in the big 150 lap A Feature. The 35 lap C Feature saw Chris Nash get out to the early lead until he spun in to turn 4. Jeff Vochaska ended up winning the feature followed by Ralph Wine, Jr., Gary Sherman, Guy Pritchard, Cal Williams, Tim Rugg, Adam Terry, AJ Foote, Chris Nash, and Corey Ryman rounding out the top 10.
The Klash A Feature saw Phil Massuch got out to the early lead over Curt Spalding and lead the first 98 laps of the first 100 lap segment. Terry Senneker who came from the 18th starting spot came up through the field and was running second when the yellow flag came out on lap 98 putting him on the inside of Massuch on the restart seeing him take the lead and winning the first segment. Terry then had to role the dice for the inversion of the final 50 and he rolled a three putting Massuch and Joe Bush on the pole.

After the 15 minute break Joe Bush rolled out the early lead with Senneker and Andy
Bozell on his back bumper. Senneker took the lead from Bush with around 20 laps to
go. Joe Bush stayed on Senneker’s back bumper until the final lap with lap traffic in
front of them Joe drove to the inside out of turn 4 coming up .162 of second short of
$10,000 giving Senneker his second Klash win over Bush, Phil Massuch, Tom
Thomas, Brian Bergakker, Phil Bozell, Alec Carll, Curt Spalding, Dave Sensiba, Scott
Hantz, Mike Root, Mike “Bubba” Brooks, Jerry Drake, and Billy Shannon rounding
out the top 15.

AJ Foote set fast time for the Modifieds with a lap of 13.652 at 98.887 MPH besting
21 cars. The 50 Lap feature saw Brian Bergakker have to battle hard for his 9th feature
win of the year. It looked like Mike “Bubba” Brooks driving for Steve Brown was going
to end the win streak of Bergakker until he spun with two laps to go giving the win to
Bergakker over Brian Nester, Travis Eddy, Chris Orr, Harry Foote, Mark Fliearman,
Ben Raber, Steve Landers, Mike Brooks, and Alan Darlison rounding out the top 10.

Klash winner Terry Senneker (#37) battles with eventual fourth-place finisher Tom Thomas  (#47).  (Doug Swift Photos)
Veteran racer Fred Campbell dropped out early with his #47.