Tucker Wins Carquest Tour Race at Riverside Series PR Report
Takes Lead Late to Win at Antigonish Track
Shawn Tucker won the Ron MacGillivray Chevrolet 100 at Riverside Speedway, located near Antigonish, NS on Saturday night. Tucker, from Fredericton, NB took the lead on lap 93 to take the second Halcraft Print checkered flag of the season on the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour.
Kent Vincent of Crapaud, PE finished second, ahead of John Flemming of Halifax, NS. Lonnie Sommerville of Saint John, NB and Daryl Mahar of Five Island Lake, NS rounded out the top five.

Flemming won the Coast Tire Most Laps Led Award. Over 5000 fans saw twelve lead changes between five different drivers. Only 6 cautions slow the event, which took 54 minutes to complete.

None of the top five cars opted to take the Hipertech Pole Challenge.

Jonathan Hicken of Montague, PE, Darren MacKinnon of Winsloe, PE and Flemming won heat races. Vincent won the Dash for the Pole, featuring the top nine finishers in the Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials. Vincent also had the fastest time on the 1/3 mile high banked, with a new track record, at a blistering speed of over 100 miles per hour.
Rollie MacDonald of Pictou, NS won the “B” Feature, ahead of the King of the Road Roger Miller of North Noel Road, NS and Brad Mann of Glen Livet, NB.

Thirty-five of the Maritimes top drivers attempted to qualify for the Main Feature.

Prior to the beginning of the Main Feature, Riverside Speedway celebrated 25 years of
Pro Stock racing in the Maritimes by paying tribute to ten former Champions. Retired
heroes Terry Clattenburg, Dave Gorveatt, Paul Hebert, Junior Kelly and Greg Sewart;
the late Scott Fraser; and current CARQUEST Tour competitors and former champions
Flemming, MacDonald, Wayne Smith of Timberlea, NS and Tucker were all part of the

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour returns to action in two weeks time, when makes it’s
first of two stops to the New Brunswick Capital. Speedway 660 in Geary will be the
site of round three of the 2008 season, the CARQUEST 100, on June 21st.

The CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour is operated by the Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited
and features an eleven race series at five different venues throughout the Maritime Provinces.
Top drivers from all three provinces compete, including previous champions Shawn Tucker, Rollie MacDonald, John Flemming and Wayne Smith. For more information, visit maritimeprostocktour.com or call our administration office Monday to Friday at (902) 481-2531.

Shawn Tucker in victory lane.  (Ken MacIsaac Photos)
Tucker's #52