The 2008 True Value Modified Racing Series season came to a close as sponsors, family and friends gathered to share food and memories while they honored teams with well deserved awards at the series banquet on Saturday, November 15th. 

TVMRS announcer, John Spence Sr., opened the event focusing on a review of the 2008 season.

Spence noted, “Despite the just concluded campaign being tough economically for everyone, 61 different drivers were awarded points this year. All things considered, that's not too bad.”

Competitor Chris Pasteryak made family history by winning the their first ever modified championship. The young charger, Chris Pasteryak, from Lisbon, CT., came to the TVMRS division two years ago to learn and get some seat time in a modfied. With the guidance and experience of his dad, Charlie Pasteryak, and uncle, Carl Pasteryak, he learned fast. In 2008, he won two of the division's races, one at Waterford SpeedBowl, his home track, and the second at Seekonk Speedway.

“Standing here right now, it just seems like a dream that I do not want to wake up from and I just keep waiting for the alarm clock to go off.” Pasteryak said referring to his 2008 TVMRS championship. “I know that the start of every season the optimist in all of us has one of our goals to win the championship. But the realist thinks that there is no way possible. If you were to ask me at the start of this  year, halfway through the season and even ten minutes before the start of the feature start at Twin State, I would have said no way.”

“Racing is all that we know,” said Pasteryak from the banquet podium.  “I do not think that any of us would have it any other way.”

The Pasteryak team has been involved in racing with family and friends for over three decades and it has become an integral part of their life.

“It all started of course with my dad and uncle when they brought there first race car home in 1975,” said Pasteryak.  “I am not sure that they knew what they were starting. If they could go back and do it all over again I do not know if they would go out and buy one. It probably would have been a heck of a lot cheaper [not to] if you added it up during the years.”

Going into the last few races there was a three way battle for this year's 2008 championship. The chase to the end included past champion Kirk Alexander, Chris Pasteryak and Mike Holdridge. When the season's racing ended, Pasteryak lead the point battle which earned him the championship.

“I would like to thank Kirk Alexander and Mike Holdridge for a clean hard fought battle for the title all year long,” said Pasteryak. “I believe that we have put on not only the best modified racing, but some of the best short track racing in the country. There are not many other divisions that can start twenty-six modifieds on a quarter mile track and run off a hundred green flag laps in just over a half-hour. It is that type of racing that will ensure our series can continue to grow and we can run our cars and bring modified racing to fans across New England. I know that I cannot wait for next year.”

2008 True Value Modified Racing Series Achievement Awards Recipients:

Chris Pasteryak earned the Hoosier Tire East Award which was presented to him by Bobby Summers. 

Leading at half-way for most of the 2008 TVMRS races earned the series three time past champion Kirk Alexander the Black Mountain Painting Award.

The True Value Modified Racing Series Officials vote every year on a group of awards:

The Most Improved Driver Award was presented to Shelly Perry of Ashaway, RI, the first woman ever in the series to attain this award.

The Sportsmanship Award was given to the #77 Gangsta Racing team.

The 2008 Koszela Speed Rookie of the Year Award was presented to Kenny White, Jr.  of Weare, NH. 

The Tough Luck Award was presented to Les Hinckley of Windsor Locks, CT.

Highlighting along with ending the award ceremony was the presentation of this year's Bob Polverari 7-11 Award was awarded by Polverari himself to the competitor who represents modified racing in a professional manner. Long time veteran racer Vinnie “Who” Annarummo Jr. of Swansea, MA. was honored with this year's prestigious award.

The Top-15 drivers in the series were recognized during the evening and every driver received a point fund check and a trophy.

The 2009 schedule for the TVMRS has not been finalized yet, but series founder, Jack Bateman announced a sixteen race schedule, down from nineteen this past year with some possible adjustments to be made to the now tentative schedule.

2009 True Value Modified Racing Series Schedule

April 25, 2009Monadnock SpeedwayWinchester, NH
May 24, 2009Thunder Road Int'l Speedway Barre, VT
June 13, 2009Seekonk SpeedwaySeekonk, MA
July 1, 2009Seekonk SpeedwaySeekonk, MA
July 4. 2009Monadnock SpeedwayWinchester, NH
July 10, 2009Lee USA SpeedwayLee, NH
July 18, 2009Oxford Plains SpeedwayOxford, ME
August 15, 2009Wiscasset RacewayWiscasset, ME
August 22, 2009Seekonk SpeedwaySeekonk, MA
October 4, 2009Twin State SpeedwayClaremont, NH
October 10-11, 2009Seekonk SpeedwaySeekonk, MA
October 24-25, 2009Lee USA SpeedwayLee, NH

TBAThompson Int'l Speedway Thompson, CT
TBAWaterford SpeedBowlWaterford, CT

Pasteryak Takes Center Stage at TVMRS Banquet  By Denise DuPont
Annaurummo, Hinckley, White and Others Are Also Honored
Kenny White, Jr. is the 2008 TVMRS Rookie of the Year.
Chris Pasteryak poses next to his newest racing trophy.  (Jim DuPont Photos)
Chris Pasteryak (Right) poses with his father Charlie Pasteryak  (Left).
Vinnie Annarummo (Center)  was presented with the Bob Polverari 7-11 Award.
Les Hinckley (Left) was given the award that nobody wants - the Hard Luck award.