BDI Racing Team Wins Media Pit Crew Challenge
Competition Was Part of Sprint All-Star Week in Charlotte
The BDI Racing Team, led by SPEED reporter Bob Dillner, won the second annual Media Pit Crew Challenge at Time Warner Cable Arena Wednesday afternoon. The team edged a group from the Charlotte Bobcats by two seconds to win the team competition.
Over 40 Charlotte-area and national media participated in the event, which followed the same format as the NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge that will be held Thursday night. In addition to the team competition, winners were also crowned in four individual skills competitions for quickest jack man, front tire changer, rear tire changer and gas man.

BDI Racing Team, which included Dillner as jack man, Dustin Archer as front tire changer, Bob Backner as rear tire changer and Matt Kentfield as gas man, beat teams from WBTV (Charlotte NBC affiliate) and WSOC-TV (Charlotte ABC affiliate) in the preliminary rounds before besting the Bobcats in the finals. The Bobcats team defeated the Charlotte Observer and WCCB (Charlotte FOX affiliate) to reach the finals.

Other teams were fielded by the UNC-Charlotte Niner University Times, Sprint Vision and SPEED.

Prior to the event, the media teams were tutored by members of the No. 12 Alltel Dodge pit crew, the defending NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge championship team, and defending individual jack man champion Mitch Lash of the No. 55 NAPA Toyota crew.

In the individual skills competitions:

- Wes Bryant (WBTV) was able to jack both sides of the car in 9.796 seconds to win the jack man competition, edging out Larken Egleston (Charlotte Observer) by 0.030 seconds. The competition was the closest of the day.

- John Knicely (WCCB) beat Ron Lee (WBTV) by 0.633 seconds to win the individual gas man competition.
Bob Diller gets some air while at work (Top) and a team photo of the winning BDI Racing Team.  (Streeter Lecka/Getty Images for NASCAR Photos)
- Rob Paul (WSOC) and Randy Pemberton (SPEED) were the top tire changers of the day. Paul changed the front tire in 14.399 seconds, while Pemberton earned the rear changer crown with a time of 17.382 seconds.