VanDoorn Slips By To Win CRA Race at Toledo Series PR Report
Roahrig Dominates, But Fades Late in the Race
JR Roahrig led most of the Crown Online 100 before his handling went away allowing Johnny VanDoorn to get the lead and Scott Hantz to pull around to second as the laps wound down at Toledo Speedway Friday night.  Hantz had to work around lapped traffic to get under and pass VanDoorn on the 98th lap coming out of turn 2.  VanDoorn while trying to get under Hantz got into him in turn 3 and only a great save kept Hantz off the wall, giving VanDoorn the victory. JR Roahrig recovered to finish second, Hantz third, Boris Jurkovic fourth and Aaron Pierce fifth.
"He got into me a little when he got passed me and then in turn three he came down and I got into him."  VanDoorn stated. "It was just rubbing, I didn't mean to do it and I went over and apologized to Scott right after the race."

Former CRA Super Series regular and current NASCAR Nationwide Series driver David Stremme qualified and started seventh, then came charging through the field to third pushing the second place car in less than 20 laps before the car nearly came off the track and he was forced to retire due to handling problems. During his laps on the track Stremme earned the VDL Fuel Systems Hot Lap of the Race Award after running the fastest lap during green flag racing.

Before the near spin Hantz had raced through the field from his 11th starting position, picking off cars one by one to work his way up to second, passing cars on both the high and low side. For his save Hantz earned the ARP Cool Move of the Race Award. He also earned a Hoosier Racing Tire Performance Award.

Jack Landis won the other Hoosier Racing Tire Performance Award moving from 22nd to ninth. He also earned the Isky Racing Cams/Lane Automotive Hard Charger Award. JR Roahrig earned the Halfway Leader Award.
Jeep Pflum and Tommy Cook received the EMF That’s Racing Award after being caught in an accident that happened around them. Jeff Berg received the Leaf Race Products Hard Luck Award and Nick Lay got the Shively High Performance Tough Luck Award.

Rick Turner won the Appleton Rack & Pinion Fast Qualifier Award with his Great Deals Racing teammate Zach Taylor second fast. Race Winner Award went to Van Doorn, as well as the Holley Performance Award and the Klotz Lubricants Award.

K&N Filters Rookie of the Race Award and the VDL Fuel Systems Top Rookie Award went to Aaron Pierce who has now won five Rookie of the Race Awards and holds a slim lead over Zach Taylor in the Rookie of the Year standings.

The CRA Super Series will be in action on August 9th at Anderson Speedway for the Anderson 300 presented by Great Deals, with the CRA Street Stocks in the Anderson 100. For more information about the CRA Super Series and the CRA Street Stock Series is available at
Van Doorn in victory lane.  (James McDonald Photo)