Jurkovic Wins Elmer Musgrave Memorial 100 Series PR Report
Illinois Driver Never Looks Back at Illiana
Joliet, IL driver Boris Jurkovic blistered the track with a new qualifying record and backed it up with a dominating victory in Saturday evening's Elmer Musgrave 100 Presented By Texas Corral Restaurants at Illiana Motor Speedway.  Starting from the 4th position, Jurkovic was in the lead by lap three and   never trailed after that. Jurkovic was aided by a furious battle for second through fifth that raged through out the whole event.
"We hit everything right on the car tonight." Jurkovic stated. "I was a little nervous with (Eddie) Hoffman behind me on the restarts, but after a couple of laps we would get going, and I could stay in front."

While Jurkovic was dominating up front no one could dominate behind him as Scott Hantz, Eddie Hoffman, Mike White, Jeff Cannon, and Jr. Roahrig battled for second, third, fourth and fifth. They traded places amongst each other for position until late in the race. Hantz was running the high line, until late in the race when he was shuffled around and dropped back to seventh.

Hoffman took second while their pack of cars was working their way through lap traffic, taking the first turn three wide at one time and slipping past 3 cars at once to get to second. "With a car as good as this you can usually win, but tonight Boris really had it together." Hoffman said.

For his moves to get to second Hoffman was awarded the ARP Bodies Cool Move of the Race Award, he also earned a Hoosier Racing Tire Performance Award.

Rick Turner continued a great year with a third place finish moving up several positions in the last few laps. "This car really came on in the last part of the race. I wish it had come like that a few laps earlier, but we just could not catch Hoffman to get into second." Turner commented.
Multi-time Illiana Late Model Champion Mike White finished in fourth with 2007 Illiana Late Model Champion Jeff Cannon in fifth. John VanDoorn finished in sixth, he earned a Hoosier Racing Tire Performance Award, and was the ISKY Racing Cams/Lane Automotive Hard Charger Award winner moving up 14 positions during the race to get his best finish of the 2008 season.

Jurkovic won the Holley Performance Award, as well as the Appleton Rack & Pinion Fast Qualifier Award, the RaceTrailerSales.com Halfway Leader award and the Fatheadz.com Race Winner Award. Jurkovic also turned the fastest lap during the race earning him the VDL Fuel Systems Hot Lap Of The Race Award.

Aaron Pierce received his second consecutive K&N Filters Rookie of the Race Award finishing one place ahead of fellow rookie Nick Baran. Rookie Zach Taylor earned the Leaf Race Products HardTough Luck Award when he was forced to drop out after only 55 laps due to the clutch going out. Rich Segvich was awarded the Shively HP Tough Luck Award after spinning and hitting the wall just as the field took the opening green flag.

The next CRA Super Series event will be the Hargus Mullins Memorial 125 presented by EMF Corp and Centennial Wireless on Thursday, July 3rd at Angola Motor Speedway. That event will also feature the Howe CRA Sportsman Series in their first ever visit to Angola Motor Speedway.

Boris Jurkovic in victory lane.  (CRA Photo)