ASAMT officials have announced 12 of the 15 drivers that will make up the 2008 Touring Stars program for the ASA Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by Echo Outdoor Power Equipment. The Touring Stars program is a bonus program for the Touring Stars that compete at all of the ASAMT events.
The 12 drivers listed below gained the Touring Star status due to their placement in the 2007 point standings and have committed to running the full 2008 ASAMT season. The 12 drivers are

Nate Haseleu, 2007 ASAMT Champion, who had one win (Jefferson), six top-five and seven top-ten finishes last season. Haseleu recently finished fifth in Speed51.coms Popular Short Track Driver voting contest.

Donny Reuvers, who finished second in 2007 points with four top-five and eight top-ten finishes. The Dundas, MN driver was also named as Minnesotas State Champion by Late Model Digest.

Dave Feiler, who finished third in 2007 points with five top-five and nine top-ten finishes. Feiler is a three-time track champion at Madison International Speedway and also won a championship at Dells Raceway Park. In 2002, he became the first driver since Dick Trickle in 1971 to win championships in the same season at MIS and Dells.

Jamie Iverson, who finished fourth in 2007 points with one win (Norway) and had four top-five and eight top-ten finishes. Last year, Iverson didnt disappoint the standing room only crowd at Norway Speedway as he collected his first ASAMT win.

Kenny Richards, who finished fifth in points with one win (Dells) and had two top-five and six top-ten finishes.

Jonathan Eilen, 2007 ASAMT Rookie of the Year and finished sixth in points with one win (Elko) and four top-five and five top-ten finishes. Eilen put himself in the record books as the first ever ASAMT winner with his Elko win.

Dan Fredrickson, who finished seventh in points with three wins (Grundy, Shakopee, and La Crosse) and had five top-five and six top-ten finishes. He is the only driver, so far, to register multiple wins in the ASAMT series.

Travis Sauter, who finished eighth in points with three top-five and six top-ten finishes. Sauter also
won a new B&B Racing Engine at the 2007 Championship Banquet.

Brandon Hill, who finished eleventh in points with one win (Madison) and had one top-five and four
top-ten finishes in 2007. Hill will be competing in 2008 with a Pro Power engine that he won at the
2007 Championship Banquet.

Doug Mahlik finished 12th in points last season. A veteran of the first Gulf War, Mahlik will be
competing with a new Toyota Camry in 2008.

Kris Kelly finished 13th in the 2007 point standings with one top-five and one top-ten finish. This
season he will have a Tesar Engineering engine under his hood that he won at the 2007 Championship

Rich Loch finished 14th in the 2007 point standings with two top-ten finishes. Loch is a veteran that
includes starts in the famous ASA National Tour.

The Touring Stars program is significant because the ASA Midwest Tour ideology is all about working together to provide the best entertainment at the racing facilities that we attend, stated Steve Einhaus, ASAMT VP. Its our goal to make sure that the facilities we visit are profiting and those personnel and fans are in high spirits about our event. Part of that sensation is giving them the marketing tools needed to draw fans by bringing the Midwests hottest short track stars, using the Touring Stars program. The elite group will be compensated for their dedication to the series and also be required to compete at every event.

Twenty years ago fans watched for a flyer for an ARTGO race and saw their favorite drivers faces. They knew who was competing at each race ahead of time and it gave fans an incentive to travel to events, Einhaus recalled, Thats what its about - showcasing the hottest current stars against the locals and developing new talent.

The final three Touring Stars positions will be given after the first event on Saturday, April 19th at Elko Speedway in Elko, MN. The highest finishing rookie along with two drivers that are the highest in points and not part of the program will be given the status for the next event.

Nathan Haseleu
Travis Sauter
ASA Midwest Tour Announces Most of Their Touring Stars for '08
Bonus Program Rewards Those Who Commit to the Tour