51's Weekend Update
Cup Was at Richmond, But There's Plenty of Short Trackin' Everywhere
ARCA RE/MAX Series -  With a sharp eye still on a championship, ARCA RE/MAX Series rookie Michael McDowell capped off a picture perfect weekend Saturday afternoon at Chicagoland Speedway with a convincing victory in the Chicagoland ARCA 200.
1) McDowell  2) Justin Marks  3) Colin Braun  4) Jeremy Clements  5) Erin Crocker

ASA Late Model, North Series – The cars and stars of the ASALMS Northern Division headed to Grundy County (IL) Speedway in Morris, Illinois for the running of the 1st annual Bob Milner Memorial 125 on Sunday afternoon.  Eddie Hoffman proved to be the man to beat when he passed 2007 Grundy County Speedway Late Model Track Champion, Tom Smith on Lap 57 and then withstood late charges from ASALMS Northern Division Rookie of the Year title contender and new track record holder, Jesse Saunders and Trent Snyder to score his Second ASALMS North feature win and 10th overall Grundy County Speedway feature win of the 2007 season
!) Hoffman  2) Jesse Saunders  3) Trent Snyder  4) Peter Cozzolino  5) Charlie Menard,

Carquest Pro Stock (Super Late Model) Tour – Mike MacKenzie of Dartmouth, NS won the PARTS FOR TRUCKS 200 for the CARQUEST Pro Stock Tour at Scotia Speedworld, near Halifax, NS on Saturday night.  MacKenzie took the lead on lap 123 enroute to his second victory of the season.  John Flemming of Halifax, NS and Wayne Smith of Timberlea, NS were second and third.  Lonnie Sommerville of Saint John, NB and Shawn Tucker of Fredericton, NB rounded out the top five.

Blizzard Super Late Model Series - Scott Carlson powered past Ryan Crane with eight laps remaining to capture the Miller Chill 100 at Five Flags Speedway (FL), the fourth of five races in the 2007 Blizzard Series. It was Carlson's second consecutive victory in the series, which guarantees provisional starting spots to the top two Blizzard points winners in the 40th Snowball Derby on Dec. 2nd.  1) Carlson  2) Ryan Crane  3) Eddie Mercer  4) Chris Davidson  5) Justin Drawdy

IMCA Modifieds - Todd Shute of Des Moines, Iowa took home the win in the 25th Anniversary of the Speedway Motors IMCA Super Nationals at Boone Speedway (IA)) this past Saturday night. Shute held off defending race champion Richard Lewerke of Garner, Iowa and Eric Dailey of Armstrong, Iowa, to capture his first victory in the September classic.
  click here for Friday Notes          click here for Thursday Notes         click here for Wednesday Notes

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour - Donny Lia won the Bud Pole Award for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event at Thompson International Speedway.  Lia then redrew the pole and will start there, next to Ron Yuhas, Jr.   Time Trial Results - 1)  Lia  2) Ronnie Silk  3) Matt Hirschman  4) Tony Ferrante  5) Ted Christopher 

However, Lia will have a little bit of time to prepare for the feature.  Heavy rains washed out Sunday's original race date and postponed the show until Saturday, September 22nd.

NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour - NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour driver L.W. Miller didn’t win the 2007 championship on Saturday night at Caraway Speedway, but the Mooresville, N.C. resident took a big step forward to reaching his title hopes thanks to his victory in the Whelen Southern Modified Tour 150.

It was L.W. Miller’s fifth win of the season and his fifth straight victory at Caraway dating back to last season. The victory allowed L.W. Miller to pad his Whelen Southern Modified Tour championship lead with only three races remaining.  1) L.W. Miller  2) Frank Fleming  3) Junior Miller  4) Brian King  5) Tim Brown

RoC Modifieds - Matt Hirschman set fast time for Sunday's RoC Modified race at Thompson International Speedway (CT) on Saturday and backed that up on Sunday afternoon by winning the race.  1) M. Hirschman  2) Pete Brittain  3) Rick Kluth  4) Woody Pitkat  5) Lee Sherwood

Super Late Models - With PASS North taking the weekend off, several teams invaded Wiscasset Raceway for the NAPA Auto Parts 100.  Cassius Clark used his #8 car to take the victory and its $3,000 winner's check.  1) C. Clark  2) Travis Benjamin  3) Scott Chubbuck  4) Johnny Clark  5) Scott Moore

But wait, there's more....

According to Travis Barrett of Central Maine Newspapers, Cassius Clark failed post-race technical inspection because of the fact that his left-side weight percentage was 57.1%.  Wiscasset rules allow 57% left side weight with no wiggle room.  Third-place finisher Scott Chubbuck was also DQ'ed for being too heavy on the left side.  This all awards the victory to Travis Benjamin. 

Supermodifieds - Ipswich, Mass. driver Justin Belfiore took a dominating win of the All-Star Classic Saturday night at All-Star Speedway (NH) – a race he'd always dreamed of winning. He led the way after the first segment of the race, reformatted this year into two 75-lap segments. He then went on to dominate the second portion, especially after ISMA point leader Chris Perley had been eliminated late in the first race in a hard crash off the first turn. Justin acquired his third career ISMA-Wirtgen race by taking the prestigious Classic win.  1) Perley  2) Jeff Holbrook  3) Russ Wood  4) Joe Petro  5) Jamie Timmons

True Value Modified Racing Series – Chris Pasteryak, Andy Seuss and Jimmy Kuhn all won their heat races in preparation for Sunday's TVMRS feature at Thompson International Speedway (CT).  Seuss went into the lead on the first lap of the race, but on lap two the yellow flag came out and postponed the rest of the show until Saturday, September 22nd.

VIPER Super Late Model Series – Casey Smith won the VIPER Series event at South Alabama Speedway on Saturday night. 
1) Casey Smith  2) Jason Hogan  3) Jason Young  4) Donald Long  5)Grant Enfinger

Wisconsin Challenge Series - Andy Monday held off the biggest stars the Wisconsin Challenge Series (WCS) could throw at him Friday night at Madison (Wis) International Speedway to claim his first series win and the biggest of his young career.  Andrew Morrissey, Frank Kreyer, Nathan Haseleu and Mark Eswein chased Monday the entire distance in Tribute to America 100, the penultimate event of the 2007 WCS campaign.