51's Weekend Update
It's Getting Late In the Year and the Big Races Are Picking Up
ACT -  Patrick Laperle doesn’t mind kissing cows…after all, when you win a big race like the Milk Bowl at Thunder Road (VT), it’s one of the best trophy girls to kiss in all of racing.  Laperle was the overall winner of Sunday’s event, despite not winning any of the three segments.  Phil Scott, Jean Paul Cyr and Dave Whitcomb won the three segments, but Laperle had the best finishing average to take the overall win.  1) Laperle  2) Ben Rowe  3) Whitcomb  4) Brian Hoar  5) Mike Rowe

ASA Late Model Challenge Series – In a very thrilling 200-lap Feature that saw an ASALMS record nine lead changes among fou different drivers, Eau Claire, Wisconsin veteran, Charlie Menard led 164 laps of the 200-lap affair and survived a ferocious battle with Derek Thorn to score his Second ASALMS Challenge Division Feature of the 2007 Season in an event that saw the last 100 laps run caution free at Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola, FL.  1) Menard  2) Thorn  3) Travis Dassow  4) Eddie Hoffman  5) Michael Annett

Travis Dassow who by merely taking the green flag, the West Bend, Wisconsin driver clinched the 2007 ASALMS Challenge Division Championship for his T.D. Racing Development Team.

This is the third straight ASALMS Challenge Division title for the former WalTom Racing Team that took current NASCAR Busch Series drivers, Stephen Leicht (2005) and Kelly Bires (2006) to their respective championships.

LMSC – Dennis Setzer, perhaps best known these days for his NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series prowess, showed that he can still get the job done behind the wheel of a Late Model on a short track as the veteran took the win in the biggest Late Model Stock Car race in the country, the Bailey's 300 at historic Martinsville Speedway (VA).  Speed51.com was at Martinsville and will have more on the race soon.  1) Setzer  2) Jamey Caudill  3) Davin Scites  4) Matt DiBenedetto  5) Matt McCall

PASS South - Heath Hindman inherited the lead on lap 143 when Ryan Lawler, who was in search of his third-straight Hickory PASS South victory, suddenly slowed with a bad alternator in turn-one.  That left Hindman to ward off challenges from PASS North young gun Trevor Sanborn over several late-race restarts to claim victory number-one.  1) Hindman  2) Sanborn  3) Brian Royalty  4) Preston Peltier  5) Jason Hogan

PLM - The first annual Georgia State Championships at Lanier National Speedway, the season ending event at the 3/8ths-mile oval, definitely showcased some of the best racing talent in the state Saturday night.

In the 150-lap Pro Late Model race, Paul Kelley spun out on Lap 22 but eventually made his way back to the front on Lap 134 and then held off Chris Whorton for the victory.

Dwayne Buggay was third, Shawn Simpson fourth, and Taylor Satterfield took fifth.

The entire night, however, was marred by an accident in the Legends Pro Masters race when Zach Rearden was seriously injured after his car was hit broadside by another car. It took an hour to extricate him from the car and he was life-flighted to Grady Hospital in Atlanta with multiple broken bones.

Redneck - Todd Bradburry’s “Superman” was victorious on Saturday night in the Redneck Racing Series event at Concord Motorsport Park (NC).  1) Bradburry “Superman”  2) Chris Player  “The Big Show”   3) Rusty Drye “Vigilante”

Sunbelt SLM - After a rain delay of 2 months, the annual Clyde Hart Memorial ran at New Smyrna Speedway on Saturday night and a surprise winner made it to victory lane.  Sam Watts, just 16-years-old, upset Tim Russell and the rest of the Sunbelt SLM stars for the victory in the Clyde Hart Memorial.  This was Watts's second start in a Super Late Model and he only came to shake down the car and have some fun.  1) Watts  2) Russell  3) Patrick Conrad  4) Blake Lehr  5) Brock Burns

SLM - For a lot of racers, a win is more satisfying when they pass cars to win, rather than start up front and lead all the laps. Jeremy Lepak had that kind of a  run today as he moved from his 12th starting position to take home his second consecutive National Short Track Championship at the Rockford Speedway (IL).  1) Lepak  2) Jerry Gille  3) Dan Lensing  4) Peter Moore  5) Al Schill

WMT - Donny Lia’s 2007 season has been so successful, he was able to clinch the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship with a race remaining on the schedule.

Lia, with six wins and 11 top fives in 15 races, finished seventh in Sunday’s Fall Final at Stafford (Conn.) Motor Speedway. Combined with Todd Szegedy’s 22nd-place finish, Lia improved his points lead over second-place Szegedy to 183 and earned Lia his first career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour championship.

Defending Whelen Modified Tour champion Mike Stefanik won his first race of the season. He led the final 59 laps to finish ahead of runner-up Tony Hirschman and third-place Ted Christopher. Matt Hirschman and Ronnie Silk were fourth and fifth respectively.