51's Weekend Update
Veterans and Young Guns Split Victories
ACT Late Model Series – Patrick Laperle scored a popular – and lucrative – American-Canadian Tour (ACT) victory in front of a packed grandstand full of his home-track fans at Autodrome St-Eustache on Saturday night.  In winning the ACTion Super Series 200 – a combination race for the ACT Late Model Tour and the Serie ACT Castrol at the suburban Montreal 4/10-mile oval – Laperle earned $6,000 (US).  It was his first ACT win in his home country, and the tenth of his career.  1) Laperle  2) Roger Brown  3) Sylvain Lacombe  4) Brian Hoar  5) Jacques Laperle

ASA Northwest Series – The ASA Northwest Tour stopped at the Douglas County Fairgrounds Speedway (OR) Saturday night and Travis Bennett was the big winner.  1)  Bennett  2) Mike Obrist  3) Kelly Tanner  4) Tidrick  5) Ron Eaton

ASA Late Models North – In a100-lap ASA Late Model North feature at Rockford Speedway (IL), Eddie Hoffman got by race long leader, Mike Heiss after a thrilling door to door and bumper to bumper battle with some heavy paint swapping. On Lap 84 and from their, the Wheaton, Illinois veteran finally got by Heiss and held on to win his first ASALMS Northern Division Feature of the 2007 season.  1) Hoffman  2) Heiss  3)  Dave Gentile Jr.  4) Josh Nelms  5) Peter Cozzolino

Busch East  – Joey Logano led an amazing final quarter-lap to take his fourth NASCAR Busch East Series win of the season at Adirondack International Speedway in Beaver Falls, N.Y. Saturday night.

Logano was fifth when the race restarted after the event’s seventh and final caution flag. After the restart, the race’s dominant leader, Matt Kobyluck, was assessed a penalty for jumping the green flag, dramatically altering the event’s outcome. Kobyluck then pitted on lap 146 and returned to the event without the possibility of winning.  Bryon Chew inherited the lead when Kobyluck made his penalty stop, heavily pressured by Sean Caisse, the event’s defending winner, and Logano.

On the final lap the leaders bunched as Rogelio Lopez spun to grass at the bottom of turn four. Unaware the leaders were about to overtake him, Lopez returned to the racing surface with Chew leading Logano and Caisse toward the checkered flag.   Logano dove to the low side of Chew in turn four, and squeezed through an opening between the charging car of Chew on his outside and the limping car of Lopez on the inside. Logano led from the exit of turn four to the finish line to snatch a seemingly impossible win.  1) Logano  2) Chew  3) Caisse  4) Marc Davis  5) Peyton Sellers

Carquest Pro Stock Tour – Shawn Tucker won Saturday night's Carquest Pro Stock Series event at New Brunswick International Speedway.  1) Tucker  2) Wayne Smith  3) Shawn Turple

Midgets – Jerry Coons, Jr. won the 30th Mopar “Belleville Midget Nationals in Belleville, Kansas this weekend.  1) Coons  2) Levi Jones   3) Brad Kuhn  4) Darren Hagen  5) Robby Flock

Modifieds – Eric Beers. won a grueling 100-lap feature Saturday night at Mahoning Valley Speedway (PA).  1) Beers  2) Don Wagner 3) Chip Santee  4) Earl Paules  5) Lee Sherwood

North State Challenge – A spin, a penalty and being in the right place at the right time proved to be winning combination of circumstances to land Riley Watson in the winner’s circle Saturday night at the Douglas County Speedway.

Watson began the North State Challenge Series 100-lap feature outside of the second row and ran near the lead for the first 95 circuits. But a chaotic series of events in the final laps benefited Watson and he was able to capitalize on his opportunity.   1) Watson  2) Mike Doss  3) Kyle Pope   4) Junior Roddy   5) Mike Sackett

PASS North – Experience beat out youth Saturday night at Riverside Speedway in Groveton, New Hampshire when the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North Super Late Models came to town for their 150-lap Miller Lite Summerfest event.

Kelly Moore, the 1995 NASCAR Busch North Series champion and the winningest driver in Busch North/Busch East Series history, stayed barely ahead of Trevor Sanborn, an up and coming Maine driver, at the finish line to take the victory.  1) Moore  2) Sanborn 3) Richie Dearborn  4) Johnny Clark 5) Ben Rowe.

Pro Cup North – Benny Gordon dominated the BFGoodrichTires.com 250 presented by Longhorn at Lake Erie Speedway on Saturday night.  The DuBois, Pa., driver led 209 laps, including the final 151 circuit, en route to his third straight victory at LES and the 23rd of his Hooters Pro Cup career.  1) Gordon  2) A.J. Frank  3) Gary St. Amant  4) Ben Stancill  5) Jeff Fultz

UARA – The UARA-Stars Late Models was the first series to take to competition at the newly-resurfaced Bristol Motor Speedway (TN) Saturday evening and Alex Yontz was the first driver to win on it.  Speed51.com was live on location with updates throughout the day in Trackside Now.  Click here for the Trackside Now from Bristol.

WCS - Veteran racer Steve Holzhousen scored his first-ever Wisconsin Challenge Series victory Friday night at Golden Sands Speedway (WI).  Holzhousen held off Kenny Richards and Mark Eswein for the victory in the 100-lap race that went green-to-checkered without a caution.  1) Holzhousen  2) Richards  3) Eswein  4) Jeremy Lepak  5) Keith Bohmsach