UARA-Stars the First to Compete On New Bristol Surface
First of Two UARA Events at the High-Banked Half-Mile This Weekend
Josh Adams was the winner of the UARA race at Bristol in 2005.  Who will it be this year?  (51 Photos)
In May the UARA announced the Sunoco/Bearden Oil Chase to Bristol presented by Aluminum Racing Products, Goodyear, Miller Welders and Hobart Equipment.  This special incentive program was designed with added bonus awards to be presented to drivers that compete in a five race Chase to Bristol.  The five events included Shenandoah, Dillon, Coastal Plains and both Bristol events.  Awards for the Chase drivers included $2500 for the highest finishing driver in the Chase, $1000 to the runner up among the Chase drivers, $750 for third, $500 for fourth and $250 for fifth.  These bonus awards are in addition to the pay these drivers will receive for their regular race pay. 

Aluminum Racing Products will be presenting a complete body less windows to a lucky Chase driver via a draw by an Aluminum Racing Products employee.  Goodyear will present 4 tires to the sixth and seventh place Chase finishers.  Hobart Equipment will award eight, ninth and tenth place Chase contenders with an extra $250 each.  Miller Welders will present a wire welder to the Chase driver having the hardest luck.  All bonus Chase to Bristol awards will be presented after the August 11th Bristol event.

Nineteen drivers are entered this week that qualify for these special bonuses.
Two time 2007 winner and current point leader BJ Mackey along with Melling Select rookie leader Matt DiBenedetto lead the group coming in.  Veterans UARA runners Alex Yontz, Barry Andrews, Clay Greenfield, Dennis Queen, Jake Crum, Kevin Leicht, Lucas Ransone, Mark
Setzer, Robbie Ferguson, Roger Lee Newton, Ross Furr and Zeke Shell are also contenders for the Chase rewards. 

There are five fellow Melling Select Rookies in the Chase with DiBenedetto including Matt Leicht, Casey Holt, Ryan Salomon and Daniel Pope II.
The race the drivers and fans have been anticipating will be this weekend July 28th at Bristol Motor Speedway.  This will be a chance of a lifetime for many of theses young drivers to show just what great talent the UARA-STARS have.  After months of digging and laying concrete at Bristol Motor Speedway, the facelift is complete and BMS is prepared to present its first event on the new surface.
The new surface at Bristol is sure to make for some great action for the UARA machines.
The UARA has 45 drivers already signed up to help christen the new asphalt at BMS.  Greenville hot shoe Marty Ward, Wade Day, Stephen Gahagan, Keith Stiltner, Wayne Hale and Steve Blackburn are a few of the intended drivers who have entered that do not run on a regular basis with the STARS.

Former UARA champion Matt McCall will be on hand after teaming up with veteran car owner/driver Andy Petree and should be a serious contender for the 2007 stars.

The action begins on Friday July 27th at 8:30 am with pit gates opening for a day of practice.

Admission will be $25 per person for practice.  Grandstand Gates will not be open for Friday’s practice session.

Saturday will begin early with Pit gates opening at 7:00 am.

Admission will be $20 for UARA license holders and $25 for non-UARA licensed entrants.

Grandstand gates open at 3 p.m. on Saturday Admission will be $10 per person with 12 and under free with a paying adult.