UARA-STARS Sets Stage for Caraway Season Finale
Setzer and Furr Will Duke it Out in Title Fight
Ross Furr is chasing the UARA-STARS title...
Mark Setzer and Ross Furr will surely have their game faces on Saturday, November 3, 2007 at Caraway Speedway in the Marlowe Racing Chassis 150.  The championship is down to the wire with a mere 12-point separation between the two.
Mark Setzer has come through the season with some impressive stats to show.   He has had one win, three seconds, two thirds, one fourth, two fifths, one eighth, one ninth and one tenth.  That is a total of 12 top ten finishes out of 15 races.  He sat on the pole 3 times and the outside pole four times.  Setzer took his win with much celebration at Bristol Motor Speedway.  Setzer has an average finish of 7.64 going into the final event.

Ross Furr has the best average finish thus far in the season of 5th but failed to make the first event at Hickory and only ran the heat race.  That turn of events put Furr in a catch up situation all year but he has proved he has what it takes.  Furr has 13 top ten finishes.  He has one win, two seconds, one third, three fourths, three fifths, one sixth, one eighth, and one ninth to compile that figure. He received his first win in front of the hometown crowd at our last event in Concord and will be riding that high on into Caraway. 

Furr said “We have won the battle but now we need to win the war.”

While these two front runners have their eye on each other, B.J. Mackey is in the wings watching and waiting for the least mistake by either of them.  Mackey rides third in the points coming into Caraway 54 behind Setzer and 42 behind Furr.  He knows his way around Caraway and this could be to his advantage. Mackey has had an up and down season but is one of four drivers to have two wins.  Mackey would love to be the only driver to have three wins under his belt this season.  Other two time winners are Dennis Queen, Matt DiBenedetto and Alex Yontz.

Matt DiBenedetto will be honored as the 2007 Melling Select Rookie of the Year in the pre-race activities at Caraway.  DiBenedetto has wowed the racing world with his impressive season.  He is small in stature but large with racing talent.  DiBenedetto has shown he has what it takes to become a future champion with the proper backing.  His family has been his backbone and main support all year.  They have overcome setbacks to continue throughout the season to win this Rookie of the Year honor.

DiBenedetto acquired his first UARA win at the ripe old age of 15.  He has since
turned 16 and will surely have many trophies to collect in the years to come.

Daniel Pope II hopes for a good run at Caraway with hopes of locking in 10th place for
the point championship.  Alex Yontz will not be racing at Caraway and that leaves the
door open for Pope barring any mechanical malfunctions.  Pope needs to finish 23rd or
better to attain his goal.  Pope has and average finish of 12.69, which should easily get
him into the point top ten.

Three other top ten drivers would love nothing more than to collect a 2007 UARA win at
Caraway.  Those drivers are Clay Greenfield, Lucas Ransone and 2003 UARA Champion
Lee Tissot.  Tissot has had 6 previous UARA wins in past seasons. Greenfield and
Ransone are seeking that ever-evasive first UARA win. It is only a matter of days to
see who will make which accomplishment.

Along with the UARA-STARS will be the Street Stocks for 25 laps, Redneck Racers
25 laps, Cab Cars 12 laps and the U Cars for ten laps filling out a night that should
have all the excitement a championship event should have.

..but he'll have to catch point leader Mark Setzer first.