TVMRS Closes Out 2007 Season With Award Banquet by Denise Dupont
Kirk Alexander Celebrates a Championship - Again
The 2007 True Value Modified Racing Series season was finalized on Saturday night as sponsors, family and friends gathered to share food and honor race teams with well deserved awards at the series banquet.
The Sportsmanship Award was presented to Chris Pasteryak of Lisbon, Conn. Pasteryak finished ninth in the final run down. 

The 2007 Rookie of the Year Award went to Peter Jarvis of Ascutney, Vt. who finished eighth in the series point chase. 

The Hard Luck Award and that was presented to Jim Dolan of Bethel, Conn.

A highlight of the evening was when the Bob Polverari Award presented to the competitor who
represents modified racing in a professional manner. Ed Dachenhausen of Danbury, Conn. was
named the winner of this prestigious award.

The Top-15 drivers in the series were recognized during the evening and every driver received a
point fund check and a trophy.
Announcer John Spence summarized the banquet’s honor to the series champion by changing
a quote of prior president John F. Kennedy “Tonight we pass the Torch from the older
generation back to the younger generation.”

The 2008 schedule for the TVMRS has not been firmed up yet, but an addition of the Thunder
Road Speedbowl in Barre, VT was announced by Bateman.  It marks the first Modified race
at the historic quarter mile track in over forty years.

“I am pleased to welcome back many of the fine speedways that have been a part of this
series,” said Bateman.  “I thank them for their support over the years. And I am happy to
welcome Thunder Road as the newest venue on the series.”

4/12Monadnock SpeedwayWinchester, NH
4/20Lee USA SpeedwayLee, N.H.
5/3Waterford SpeedbowlWaterford, CT
5/25Thunder Road SpeedbowlBarre, VT
6/14Seekonk SpeedwaySeekonk, MA
6/21Waterford SpeedbowlWaterford, CT
7/5Monadnock SpeedwayWinchester, NH
7/11Lee USA SpeedwayLee, N.H
7/16Seekonk SpeedwaySeekonk, MA
7/19Oxford Plains SpeedwayOxford, ME
8/2Beech Ridge Motor SpeedwayScarborough, ME
8/16Waterford SpeedbowlWaterford, CT
8/23Monadnock SpeedwayWinchester, NH
8/30Seekonk SpeedwaySeekonk, MA
9/7Thompson International SpeedwayThompson, CT
10/5 Seekonk SpeedwaySeekonk, MA
10/19Lee USA SpeedwayLee, N.H.

The TVMRS podium of 2007 - Champion Kirk Alexander (C) is joined by Les Hinkley (R) and Dwight Jarvis (L).  (Jim DuPont Photos)
Kirk Alexander made history again by winning his third championship in four years.  He has also won a race at every track that the series has competed at.

‘This championship is for my brother Tim, more than it is for myself,” said Alexander.
“It takes a lot of commitment to be able to run this whole series. It is a lot of work. I am very lucky to have a great team behind me.  It is like one big family I enjoy talking and racing with everybody.“

Alexander is also the all times series winner with 26 wins to date.

“These 26 wins that have come over these last four years could not have happened without the other competitors,” said Alexander.  “Anybody can wreck anybody but to beat them without touching them is racing.”

Alexander earned the Hoosier Tire East Award which was presented to him by fellow competitor Rob Summers.  Leading at half-way for most of the 2007 TVMRS races also earned him the Black Mountain Painting Award.

Les Hinckley of Windsor Locks, Conn., the series runner up, was given the Sunoco Hard Charger Award. Every race Les and Kirk battled for the lead and took turns visiting victory lane
The True Value Modified Racing Series Officials vote every year on a group of awards:
The Most Improved Driver Award was presented to Mike Holdridge of Madison, Conn. who finished 10th in the series standings.
Jack Bateman addresses the crowd at the TVMRS banquet.