Schedules and Rules Are Discussed by Officals and Competitors
On Saturday, January 6th, the Modified Racing Series organization met for the 2007 version of their annual meeting. Officials, car owners, crew members and drivers all were on hand to discuss schedules, rules and logistics for the new race year.

Right now there are three car shows that the Modified Racing Series will have representation at.  A show in Hartford, Connecticut on February 22nd and 23rd; The Racin’ Preview 2007 in Portland, ME; and the Speedway EXPO that will replace Racearama at Eastern States in March.

The scoring system will use computers more often in 2007 to take some of the stress off of scorers. The system will allow for less human judgment calls.  There will be a wireless laptop system in the spotters stand so that spotters in the stand will be able to see the line up from the laptop screen.

Jack Bateman continually stressed throughout the meeting that the relationship with race tracks is the most important relationship that the TVMRS has.

Experienced driver Ted Christopher will drive a car part time in the Modified Racing Series this year. While one of the rookie drivers competing in 2007 is Shelly Perry. Perry is the 2006 Stafford Motor Speedway (CT) SK Light and Thompson’s 2006 Mini Stock Champion

The next meeting for the series is planned for Saturday, March 10th.

Founder of the series, Jack Bateman, led the meeting with officials at his side.

The official schedule was announced and reviewed. There are 18 races on the schedule and a non-point event scheduled again at Seekonk. The series will re-visit the following tracks: Monadnock, Canaan, Waterford, Thompson, Lee, Seekonk and Beech Ridge. New to the series this year is an Oxford Plains Speedway race in July.

Another change for this year is that Thompson’s race will be a points event as part of September’s Modified Madness Weekend. There will be six races that will be qualifying races for the Thompson.  In addition to points at Thompson, track owner Don Hoenig has stated that the six qualifying race winners will also be recipients of additional items such as fuel or tires. Hoenig also wants to keep the three open wheel competition races as independent races. Drivers will be allowed to compete in only one of the three main races, the Whelen Modified Tour, RoC or TVMRS race.
Jack Bateman led the TVMRS meeting this past weekend.  (Jim DuPont Photos)

The Modified Racing Series season will start on Saturday, April 7th with an open practice day at Monadnock Speedway in Winchester, New Hampshire.

Again this year, Monadnock Speedway will officially be the track for the first race the on April 14th.  Seekonk has agreed to schedule Modified Racing Series races no later then the third event on the event schedule. The series is working with the other tracks to do the same.

The decision was made by meeting participants to continue the Rules and Competition Committees to define and support teams in the Modified Racing Series.

There was a discussion about the steel head engine rule and the decision was made not to change the existing rule. A recommendation was made to eliminate mirrors. The decision was made not to change the mirrors rules for now. The usage of crate motors was not supported by attendees.  Since changing rules usually equate tospending  money, any changes will be closely scrutinized.