Showtime Shows the Way in Qualifying at Waterford by Denise DuPont
Sunday's Budweiser Modified Nationals Will Start New England's '07 Racing Season
The New England racing season opened at the new Waterford Speedbowl (CT) on Saturday with time trials for the Budweiser Modified Nationals.
Jimmy Blewett's pole winning #5 SK Modified.  (Jim DuPont Photos)
Jimmy Blewett of Howell, NJ drove the number 5 car owned by Ed Partridge taking the pole award. The car Jimmy drove is the one his brother, John Blewett III, will drive at Thompson International Speedway during the 2007 season.

“It’s good to come back from Florida and win the pole here,” said Blewett.  “This is actually my brother John’s car. This is the one he will drive at Thompson. We brought it here to shake it down. It was fast right off the truck. I told the guys if they gave me a little more we’d be real good.”

The normally aggressive young gun is starting out the 2007 race season in New England where he left off in Florida, up front. This year he plans to try a new tactic.

“In the past I have been real aggressive. You are not going to win the race in the first 20 laps. I’m going to pace myself to be there at the end.”
Last year’s winner, Frank Ruocco was ninth fastest in qualifying.

“I still can’t believe I won this last year,” said Ruocco.  “We’re timed ninth, last year we started ninth so we’ll see”

Jeffrey Paul won the last chance race. The top six cars transferred to the main event.

The top ten will redraw for starting position before Sunday’s race.

Budwesier Modified Nationals Time Trial Results:

1. Jimmy Blewett,  14.233
2. Matt Hirschman, 14.257
3. Kenny Horton, 14.291
4. Tommy Fox, 14.323
5. Shawn Monahan, 14.337
6. Don Fowler, 14.362
7. Wendell Dailey, 14.373
8. Rob Janovic Jr., 14.387
9. Frank Ruocco, 14.417
10. Ted Christopher, 14.417
11. Diego Monahan, 14.446
12. Robby Summers, 14.535
13. Jay Miller, 14.576
14. Ronnie Silk, 14.585
15. Justin Gaydosh, 14.586
16. Harry Hanson, 14.599
17. Jeff Pearl, 14.615
18. Frank Mucciacciaro Jr 14.620
19. Anthony Burr, 14.638
20. Dave Sazarulo, 14.723

20-Lap SK Non Qualifiers Results:

1. Jeffrey Paul
2. Tyler Chadwick
3. Dennis Gada
4. Kurt Lenahan
5. Mark Pane 
6. Dennis Charette

Jeffrey Paul won the last chance race for the Budwesier Modified Nationals.