Impressive Field of Drivers Prep For Anderson 250 CRA Race
High Banks Promise a High Level of Competition
An impressive field of drivers is entered for Saturday’s CRA Super Series Budweiser 250 at Anderson Speedway. That event will be part of the Responsibility Matters Anderson 400 Presented By Great Deals Coupon Magazine that will also include the Bud Light 150 for the CRA Street Stocks. The famous high-banked quarter mile racetrack located in Anderson, Indiana has hosted more CRA Super Series events than any other track since the series first event ever on Saturday, April 26, 1997. Anderson Speedway has had a total of 42 CRA Super Series events to date. Former two time series champion Brian Ross is the all-time series victory leader at Anderson Speedway with nine victories.
Chris Gabehart will lead the CRA pack into Anderson.
Close racing is very common in the CRA Super Series.
Shively, Kenny Tweedy, Rick Turner, Jack Smith and Terry Fisher Jr., all of whom are in the top ten in series points.

Rookie competitor John VanDoorn leads a group of talented series rookie competitors entered for Saturday’s event. VanDoorn comes into the event leading the Team Full Throttle Driver Development Services Rookie Of The Year points, VanDoorn has been knocking on the door to get his first series win with several top 10 finishes this season including a second at Columbus Motor Speedway.  Other top rookies entered include Sean Matthuis, Ray Mooi, Nick Baran, and Donald Karr Jr. Young Bret Miles Jr. is also entered, hoping to again be a contender for the win at Anderson Speedway.

1998 series Champion Brian Rievley will be making his fourth start of the season with the series, competing in a car owned by his father Bill Rievley. Rievley has one win with the series at Anderson Speedway and was the 1997 Anderson Speedway Late Model Champion. Rievley was a winner at the series last event on June 30th at Angola Motor Speedway driving for owner Ken Muller in a car that Eddie Van Meter drove to his first series victory at the same race in 2006. Tommy St. John will be behind the wheel of the #23 Muller Motorsports car for Saturday’s event. It will be his first start for Muller, St. John is driving a limited schedule in his own car this season and won in his only start with the series this season on April 22 at Winchester Speedway.
Veteran Muncie, Indiana driver Jim Crabtree has entered Saturday’s event. Crabtree, a former winner with the series at Anderson Speedway, will be making his first start this season with the series, Crabtree has been competing the past couple of seasons with the USAR Hooters Pro Cup Northern Series.

The state of Wisconsin will be well represented in Saturday’s event with three drivers entered. Robert Maynor, from Colgate, who has made selected starts with the series this season including the June 9th event at Anderson were he finished two laps down in 13th. Also entered are Josh Bauer and Brad Mueller from Random Lake. Both drivers have competed at Slinger Speedway in Wisconsin, a high-banked quarter mile track similar to Anderson Speedway. Mueller is a multi-time champion at Slinger Speedway and has competed in selected events with the series in the past including the 2002 Anderson 400 were he was involved in a first lap accident that ended his day.
Chris Gabehart comes into the event with a 65 point lead in the 2007 series Championship points, that includes two series wins and only one finish outside the top five, that was a seventh place finish. Gabehart got the victory in the series Anderson 125 Presented By Great Deals at Anderson Speedway on June 9th. Gabehart looked like he would be finishing second as Jeff Lane had driven away from the field to a sizeable lead, when he suddenly slowed and coasted to the pits with a blown motor handing the lead to Gabehart, who had to fight off third generation driver Bret Miles Jr., who is only making selected starts during the 2007 season in preparation for a run at the series Rookie Of The Year title in 2008, to get the win. Miles’s teammate and Crew Chief Rick Turner finished in third with Kenny Tweedy in fourth and JR Roahrig in fifth.

Gabehart is entered for Saturday’s event along with 2006 series champion Scott Hantz who is currently second in points. Hantz had a scare at the June 9th event when coming to the start of the event his car burst into flames after blowing off the oil filter. Hantz was able to make repairs and return to the event and was able to salvage an eighth place finish. Other top series drivers entered are Jeff Lane, JR Roahrig, Jason
Brian Campbell from Wyoming, Michigan is entered for Saturday’s race. Campbell competes mostly with the ASA Late Model Series were he is a multi-time winner. He has also competed in selected series events over the past several seasons including his first series win last season at Kalamazoo Speedway. Campbell and his father Fred have competed for years at Berlin Raceway in their Outlaw Late Models, were Fred is a ten-time track Champion.

Will Thomas from Sharpsville, Pennsylvania and Adam Purdy from Taylor, Michigan will be making there first ever starts with the CRA Super Series. Thomas competes at Lake Erie Speedway and in the Mid-Atlantic Racing Alliance. Purdy is a competitor in the Sportsman Division at Toledo Speedway. Other drivers entered for Saturday’s race include Ohio’s Jason Dietsch, Kentucky’s Greg Boone, Missouri’s Tim Gittemeier, and Michigan’s Ryan Inman. In all there are 28 cars entered at this time for Saturday’s Budweiser 250.

Pits will open on Saturday at 2pm, practice will begin at 5pm with qualifying at 6:45pm. The race program will begin at 8pm with the Bud Light 150 for the CRA Street Stocks and will be followed by the Budweiser 250.