PRO CUP ANNOUNCES FULL 2007 SCHEDULE
Season Shorter Now For More Teams To Run Full-Time
The Hooters Pro Cup Series unveiled its 2007 schedule today at Mansfield Motorsports Speedway prior to the running of the Alan Kulwicki Memorial Sears Auto Center 250
perspective, by cutting back the number of regular-season races, we’ve opened the door further for teams wanting to compete full-time in the Hooters Pro Cup Series.” 

Of the 135 teams that competed in the Hooters Pro Cup Series in ‘06, less than 30 will run more than 17 races. With the new schedule, those teams will still be able to compete in up to 17 races, but more teams would be able to run a full-time schedule.
The 21-race schedule will feature eight Southern and Northern Division races as well as five Championship Series events to determine the overall 2007 Hooters Pro Cup Series Champion and Miller Lite Rookie of the Year.

The reduction in races for the Pro Cup Series, which ran 30 races in 2006, was implemented to allow more teams to compete on a full-time basis in 2007.

“We’ve discussed cutting back races with our competitor advisory board, and we had a very positive response,” said Tony Cox, USAR Series Director. “This series was built to give teams of varying backgrounds an opportunity to compete in a national touring series. From a budget
“We’ve looked at all the angles and talked to many car owners, and we feel like this is a great step for the series,” said Cox. “We’ve always been proactive in trying to keep costs down for our competitors and a level playing field.”

The new schedule also opens the door for future expansion.

“In the next few years, we plan to expand to a third division,” said Cox. “The way our schedule is laid out now, all we will have to do is add the races.”
2006 USAR HOOTERS PRO CUP SERIES SCHEDULE

1. Mar. 10, Sat., USA International Speedway, 0.75, Lakeland, FL, S
2. Mar. 31, Sat., South Georgia Motorsports Park, 0.5, Cecil, GA, S
3. Apr. 14, Sat., South Boston Speedway, 0.4, South Boston, VA, N
4. Apr. 28, Sat., Concord Motorsport Park, 0.5, Concord, NC, S
5. May 3, Thu., Shenandoah Speedway, 0.375, Shenandoah, VA, N
6. TBA—N
7. June 2, Sat., Peach State Speedway ,0.5, Jefferson, GA, S
8. June 9, Sat., Mansfield Motorsports Speedway, 0.5, Mansfield, OH, N
9. June 23 , Sat., Myrtle Beach Speedway ,0.538 ,Myrtle Beach, SC, S
10. June 30, Sat., Salem Speedway ,0.555, Salem, IN, N
11. July 14 ,Sat., Motor Mile Speedway ,0.416, Radford, VA, N
12. July 21 , Sat., Southern National Raceway Park, 0.4, Kenly, NC, S
13. July 28 , Sat. ,Lake Erie Speedway ,0.375 ,North East, PA ,N
14. Aug. 4, Sat., Hickory Motor Speedway, 0.363, Hickory, NC, S
15. Aug. 11 ,Sat. ,South Boston Speedway ,0.4, South Boston, VA, N
16. Aug. 22, Wed., Bristol Motor Speedway, 0.533, Bristol, TN, S

Championship Series
17. Sept. 1, Sat., Mansfield Motorsports Speedway, 0.5, Mansfield, OH ,N/S
18. Sept. 22, Sat., Iowa Speedway, 0.875, Newton, IA N/S
19. Oct. 6, Sat., Myrtle Beach Speedway, 0.538, Myrtle Beach, SC, N/S
20. Oct. 20, Sat., South Georgia Motorsports Park, 0.5, Cecil, GA N/S
21. Nov. 3, Sat., USA International Speedway 0.75 Lakeland, FL N/S

BOLD - Northern Division Races



Pro Cup is looking toward the future with its new 2007 schedule.