Hantz Grabs Lead Late, Loses It Even Later
Nathan Haseleu seemed to be on cruise control with five laps to go in the 5th Annual Elmer Musgrave Memorial 100 Presented By Texas Corral Saturday night at Illiana Motor Speedway. Scott Hantz and Illiana regular and Late Model Rookie Jeff Cannon were locked in a battle for second place giving him clear sailing to the win, when a caution came out for a car spinning. Scott Hantz was able to get a fender under Haseleu on the restart, the two raced side by side until Hantz passed him coming to the line to take the lead with only four laps to go. On the next lap Hantz slide up in the turn allowing Haseleu to slip back under Hantz to retake the lead. From there the Pardeeville, Wisconsin pulled away to get the win, his first CRA Super Series presented by Spray Power event victory.
finish third it is a great day for us and all the sponsors on the our car. It made all the work this week worth it." Cannon smiled after the race.

Dave Weltmeyer finished fourth moving up from his 13th starting position, earning him a Hoosier Racing Tire Performance Award. Mike White finished fifth just .002 seconds ahead of Eddie Hoffman. On the 98th lap White bumped Hoffman just enough to get him loose so he could get under him they then raced side by side until the end when White barely beat him to the line. For his pass of Hoffman, White earned the Sweet Manufacturing "Sweet Move of the Race" Award.
Nathan Haseleu (right) gets a hand shake from Ted Musgrave in Victory Lane at the Elmer Musgrave Memorial.  (James MacDonald photos)
Hoffman’s sixth place finish ended an eventful race for him. After starting fourth he was running up front when he pitted on a yellow flag on lap 21 to tighten up the car. Restarting 20th, Hoffman worked his way back up to the Top 5 and challenging for fourth before finishing sixth at the very end of the race.

Nick Baran earned the other Hoosier Racing Tire Award, the ISKY Racing Cams/Lane Automotive Hard Charger Award and the Racing Electronics Most Improved Award when he finished eighth after staring 18th. The CD 2 Rookie Award and the Cometic Gasket Top Rookie Award went to Danny Jackson who finished sixteenth.
Hassleu (#187) gets underneath Scott Hantz (#72).
"My heart sank a little at the end when Hantz got under me, I thought this can’t be happening. … Then we raced hard and clean, and it was a lot of fun. I’m just glad it ended the way it did, I think everyone knew who had the fastest car tonight and it is not often you get to drive a car this good. It was a real pleasure to drive." Haseleu commented.

This is the fourth time in the last five CRA Super Series races that Hantz has finished second. "The car was real loose at the end, but on the restart Haseleu left the bottom open and I got under him. We rubbed a little in the third turn and I led a lap or so before the car got loose again and he got by me to go ahead and win. This finishing a close second is getting old." Hantz stated.

Jeff Cannon finished third in his first CRA Super Series points event, after leading the first 22 laps of the race. This is his first year in a late model. "We couldn’t be happier with the best of the best here. We came here expecting to get a top 7 finish, but after qualifying fourth we thought what the heck, and to
JR Roahrig was the fastest of the three drivers who broke the track record and earned the Appleton Rack & Pinion Fast Qualifier Award as well as the Fatheadz Fast Qualifier Award. Nathan Haseleu was the Racetrailersales.com Halfway Leader Award winner. Haseleu’s Crew Chief, Gary Schultz, was the Marvel Mystery Oil Mechanic of the Race. The Leaf Race Products Tough Luck Award went to Jeff Lane.

The next CRA Super Series event is the A.P. Racing Engines 100 at Toledo Speedway on Sunday, July 2.