Racer Dedicates The Win To His Late Friend
Allegan, Michigan native Tim Curry won a thrilling and action packed Berlin 125 CRA Super Series event Saturday night at Berlin Raceway. Curry, whose business has kept him out of a racecar lately, showed no signs of rust, first breaking the track record in claiming the Appleton Rack & Pinion Fast Qualifier Award, then winning the battle on the track against Scott Hantz and Billy Shotko to get the victory, a victory Curry dedicated to Scott Baker, a friend who was tragically killed in a racing incident several years ago.
battle over the closing laps. Curry power to the inside of Hantz going into turn three to claim the lead finally on lap 121. The battled continued all the way to the checkers with Hantz getting second, Carll third, Usher fourth and Michael Gaier in fifth after contact between Usher and Lane resulted in Lane running off the backstretch and making hard contact with the tire barrier.

Billy Shotko was shuffled back to sixth place in the late lap action. Jack Landis battled an ill handling car to a seventh place finish. Jeremy Lepak finished in eighth, John Van Doorn in ninth and Tommy St. John in tenth. CRA Super Series points leader Eddie Van Meter’s night ended on lap 84 after a crash with a lapped car resulting in a 20th place finish. 
Tim Curry won Saturday's race at Berlin and dedicated it with this victory lap to his friend Scott Baker.  (CRA Photo)
The event had six different lead lap changes between four different leaders. The race was the first CRA Super Series victory for Curry in his second series event. Curry campaigned a Jason Shively backup car in the CRA Super Series event at Berlin Raceway in June of 2005.

In all five cars broke the pervious track record besides Curry. Chris Gabehart, Tommy St. John, Scott Hantz and Billy Shotko all had times faster than the previous record. By being Fast Qualifier and winning the event Curry claimed The Wax Shop Clean Sweep Award and it’s $600 bonus.

With his third place finish, the best so far in his short late model career, Alec Carll was the CD-2 Rookie Of The
The CRA podium finishers at Berlin (l-r):  Scott Hantz (2nd), Curry (winner) and Alec Carll (3rd)
The event was lead at the drop of the green flag by CRA Super Series CD-2 Rookie Of The Year Candidate John Van Doorn, a former regular at Berlin Raceway. Scott Hantz charged to the lead on lap 16 and lead the event until lap 93, holding off Curry and Shotko several times before slight contact from Curry loosened up Hantz opening the door for Shotko to pass both on the outside to get the lead on lap 94. Shotko lead until lap 103 when Hantz worked underneath to reclaim the lead, Shotko battled back to lead lap 114, but Hantz reclaimed the lead for a third time on lap 115.

A late caution on lap 117 set-up a final 8-lap shoot out that saw six different cars all battling for the win. Besides Hantz, Curry and Shotko, Jeff Lane, Greg Usher and Alec Carll, the 16-year-old Grand Rapids native, joined in the
Race Award winner and the Lane Automotive/ISKY Racing Cams Hardcharger Award winner, coming from 20th to finish third in the same car Ross Meeuwsen raced to victory at Berlin Raceway with the CRA Super Series in August of 1995.

With his lap 94 outside pass of Tim Curry and Scott Hantz, Billy Shotko was awarded the Sweet Manufacturing Sweet Move Of The Race Award. Eddie Van Meter received the EMF Corp That’s Racing Award. Curry’s car was voted the Anderson Sign & Banner Best Appearing Car Award winner by series officials. Jason Shively received the Leaf Racewear Hard Luck Award after a broken oil pump sidelined him just after taking the green flag to start the event.

The next CRA Super Series event will be the 4th Annual Buckeye Bash at Columbus Motor Speedway on Saturday, June 3rd. More information is available at www.craracing.net.