After 100-Plus Races, Eddie's In Victory Lane
After 109 CRA Super Series presented by Spray Power starts, several second place finishes, leading more than 500 laps in his career Eddie Van Meter won his first CRA Super Series points event by leading 114 laps of the Hargus Mullins Memorial 125 Presented By EMF Corporation at Angola Speedway Saturday night. Jack Landis finished second, Jeff Lane third, Scott Hantz came from the back after spinning early in the race to finish fourth and JR Roahrig finished fifth. 
chance to get by if either slipped, but neither did.  With 3 laps to go a caution due to a spinning car tighten the field and nearly gathered up Landis and Lane.  “I quit looking in my mirror at Jeff, all could see was his eyes he was so close.”  Landis commented. 

Hantz had an eventful night of racing, setting fast time in front of his hometown crowd, then drawing a seven for the invert starting on the inside of the third row.  He was working his way up when he spun after contact with a lapped car on the 27th lap, forcing him to restart on the tail of the field.  Within 10 laps he was up to 10th, and fifth by the halfway mark. For his daring moves through the field Hantz earned the Sweet Manufacturing “Sweet Move of the Race” to go with his Appleton Rack & Pinion Fast Qualifier Award and Fast Qualifier Award.
It took him 109 races to get there, but Eddie Van Meter finally found Victory Lane in CRA competition. (James MacDonald photos)
Jeff Lane and Tim Sibilia earned the Hoosier Racing Tire Performance Awards.  Sibilia also was the ISKY Racing Cams/Lane Automotive Hard Charger Award and Racing Electronics Most Improved Award for moving up 13 positions during the race while earning his fourth CRA career Top 10 finish.

Danny Jackson earned the CD-2 Rookie of the Race Award and Cometic Gasket Top Rookie Award as the highest finishing rookie.   Rich Segvich was the Leaf Race Products Tough Luck Award winner when he was knocked out of the race on a first lap accident that required a complete restart of the race. 
Van Meter (#23) races underneath Danny Jackson (#5) at Angola.
“Its great to get this monkey off my back.  I thought we were going to have a good year this year, but we’ve been in the wrong place at the wrong time all year.”  Van Meter stated.  “I really want to thank Jeff Lane, he has been very helpful.  He gave me some good advice on how to win a race. I kept thinking about what he said while leading tonight. Its great to race against such great guys, they will help you off the track and race you clean on the track.”

Landis and Roahrig raced side by side for almost 20 laps for second place with Lane and Hantz right on their bumpers. All four cars could have been covered by a blanket for several laps before Landis pulled ahead of Roahrig, towing Lane with him.  Lane and Landis continued to battle for second, with Hantz waiting for a
Van Meter also won the Halfway Leader Award and the Race Winner Award.  His Crew Chief Bill Rievley was the Marvel Mystery Oil Mechanic of the Race.   

The CRA Super Series will be busy next weekend when they race at two tracks in two days.  Staring on Friday, July 28 the CRA Super Series will race at Kalamazoo Speedway in the CRA 125 Presented By Boyne Machine and Curtis Marketing.  Then they will move on to the New Paris Speedway Saturday, July 29 for the New Paris 125 Presented By Professional Drivers Institute.  For more information on these events go to