Olsen Extends Point Lead Over Sean Caisse
Matt Kobyluck, whose home and shop are located within a few miles of the Waterford Speedbowl, gave his hometown fans and family a victory to celebrate for the second year in a row by winning Saturday night’s Big Y World Class Market 150 NASCAR Grand National Division, Busch East Series race.
Kobyluck averaged 49.079 miles per hour as seven caution periods slowed the action for 61 laps. After the final three-lap dash to the finish, Kobyluck’s margin was 0.462 seconds over Chew. Caisse, using the new NASCAR Grand National Division “spec” engine for the first time in competition, posted a track record speed to win the Busch Pole, his fourth of the season.
Kobyluck took the lead from Busch Pole winner Sean Caisse on a lap 30 restart and only surrendered it briefly on three other restarts for the rest of the distance. Caisse dropped from contention for the win when he and Kobyluck made side-to-side contact on the back straight on a lap 56 restart.

Bryon Chew, driving despite a serious non-racing leg injury, finished a strong second with Brian Hoar third. Point leader Mike Olsen was fourth and Mike Johnson fifth. Caisse came back from the incident with Kobyluck to take sixth. Kip Stockwell, Charles Lewandoski, Ruben Pardo, and Dion Ciccarelli completed the top ten.
Tim Cowen improved the most places from start to finish
Sean Caisse set fast time at Waterford.  (Ken Spring Photos)
to earn the POWERade Power Move of the Race Award, while Kobyluck was 23 places better than his last race finish to take the Featherlite Most Improved Driver Award. The checkered flag saw 21 cars still on the track with 13 of them on the lead lap.

Kobyluck, who started second, led 118 laps and earned the maximum 10 bonus points for leading the most laps. In addition to Caisse, Olsen and Chew were also credited as lap leaders, worth five bonus points for each. Olsen increased his point lead from 34 to 44 with three races to go by placing two spots ahead of Caisse. Chew took third in the point race by nine points over Hoar, with Kobyluck only two points further back in fifth. Ruben Pardo edged one point in front of Dion Ciccarelli in the Sunoco Rookie of the Year contest. 

The next race for the Busch East Series is the New Hampshire 125 at Loudon, N.H., on Saturday, September 16. That event begins a streak of three races in three weeks at major race facilities to decide the 2006 title.
Matt Kobyluck 

Big Y World Class Market 150
Waterford Speedbowl, Waterford, Conn., Saturday,August 19, 2006

UNOFFICIAL FINISH - driver's starting position in parentheses, driver, hometown, make and model of car, reason out (if any) and prize money.

  1.  (2) Matt Kobyluck, Uncasville Conn., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 150, $7,800

  2.  (4) Bryon Chew, Mattituck N.Y., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 150, $3,200

  3.  (5) Brian Hoar, Williston Vt., Dodge Intrepid, 150, $2,800

  4.  (6) Mike Olsen, North Haverhill N.H., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 150, $2,300

  5.  (3) Mike Johnson, Salisbury Mass., Ford Taurus, 150, $2,100

  6.  (1) Sean Caisse, Pelham N.H., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 150, $2,800

  7. (11) Kip Stockwell, Braintree Vt., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 150, $1,700

  8.  (8) Charles Lewandoski, Stafford Springs  Conn , Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 150, $1,600

  9.  (7) Ruben Pardo, Mexico City Mexico, Dodge Intrepid, 150, $1,500

10. (16) Dion Ciccarelli, Severn Md., Ford Taurus, 150, $1,475

11. (12) Joey McCarthy, Randolph N.J., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 150, $1,450

12. (10) Tracy Gordon, Strong Me., Ford Taurus, 150, $1,425

13. (19) John Salemi, Nashua N.H., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 150, $1,400

14. (20) Patrick Dupree, Onchiota N.Y., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 148, $1,375

15. (22) Ray Ciccarelli, Ellicott City Md., Ford Taurus, 147, $850

16. (17) Pierre Bourque, Ottawa Ont., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 146, $1,325

17. (15) John Freeman, Huntersville N.C., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 143, $1,250

18. (26) Tim Cowen, Ashland Ohio, Ford Taurus, 143, $1,725

19. (23) Joe Masessa, Franklin Lakes N.J., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 142, $1,200

20. (18) Scott Bouley, Thomaston Conn., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 139, $1,175

21.  (9) Jeff Anton, Russell Mass., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 105, $1,150

22. (25) Brent Cross, Cortland N.Y., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 73, Vibration, $1,150

23. (13) Jamie Aube, Manchester N.H., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 68, Engine, $650

24. (21) Rich Gould, North Brunswick N.J., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 20, Rear End, $1,150

25. (14) Mark Durgin, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 11, Transmission, $650

26. (27) Roger Carter, Concord N.C., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 8, Engine, $650

27. (24) Jeremy Clark, Cortland N.Y., Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 3, Vibration, $1,150

TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 7 minutes, 51 seconds

AVERAGE SPEED: 49.079 mph

MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.462 seconds

CAUTION PERIODS: 7 for 61 laps

LEAD CHANGES: 9 among 4 drivers

LAP LEADERS: Sean Causse 1-13, Matt Kobyluck 14, Caisse 15-29, Kobyluck 30-54, Caisse 55, Kobyluck 56-74, Mike Olsen 75-76, Kobyluck 77-120, Bryon Chew 121, Kobyluck 122-150

BUSCH POLE AWARD: Sean Caisse, Casella Waste Systems Chevrolet (14.800 seconds @ 91.216 miles per hour) – track record