Florida Driver Leads All 100 Laps at Bronson
The ASA Late Model Series Presented by GM Performance Parts has officially started the 2006 season. Congratulations to the first feature event winner of the 2006 season, Lake City, Floridas own, Jay Middleton!

The inaugural event in the ASALMS Southern Division is now in the books and a familiar face to Sunshine State fans was sitting in victory lane after leading all 100 laps to post the first ever feature win in the ASALMS Southern Division.
came on lap 29 when another Northern invader, Landon Cassill and Southern Division Rookie, Dillon Oliver got together in turns 1-2, both went to the rear.

On the restart, Miller tried high and low, trying to figure out a way around the hometown favorite, Middleton. The most serious incident of the evening occurred on lap 37 when rookies, Jason Miller and Kevin Willis collided heading into turn one ending Miller's night.
Jay Middleton crosses under the checkered with his #74.  (Bob Millner Photos)

Lake City, Florida's Jay Middleton started on the pole and after surviving lengthy battles with both Rookie title contender, Bo Miller and Quartermaster Fast Qualifier, Ryan Carlson, the 21-year-old would lead all 100 laps to score the inaugural feature win for the Southern Division.

The hometown favorite, Middleton and Miller brought the field to chief starter, Joey Aycocks green flag to begin the century grind. After a brief side by side dual, Middleton, who resides in near-by Lake City, Florida, jumped out into the early lead to the delight of the jam packed crowd on hand.

Miller stayed close to Middletons back bumper for the caution filled first half of the 100-lap feature. One caution
The field restarted again and after the half way signal was given, Quartermaster Fast Qualifier, Ryan Carlson began to make his charge. He used lapped traffic to get by Miller and set his sights on Middleton. Carlson then tried his hand at unseating Middleton for the top spot as the laps wound down.

Middleton was determined however and after one last late race charge from Carlson, Middleton was able to fend off the Northern pilot, Carlson and post the first ever ASALMS Southern Division feature win!

Carlson settled for second as new Rookie of the Year Points Leader, Bo Miller, lead a slew of seven consecutive rookies who would complete the Top 10.
Including John Wes Townley, David Pollen Jr., Dalton Zehr
James Buescher, Tony Willis, Travis Wilson, and Kevin Willis,
all ASALMS Southern Division Rookie of the Year Title contenders, rounded out the Top 10.

Earlier in the afternoon, Carlson won the Quartermaster Fast Qualifier award with a lap measured at 13.285 around the 1/3 mile high-banked paved oval.

The next event for the ASALMS will be the 2006 opener for the televised ASALMS Challenge Division on Friday and Saturday March 17-18. The historic Music City (TN) Motorplex in Nashville, Tennessee will host the Spring Clash 200
The next event for the ASALMS Southern Division is on Saturday April 8th at the Shenandoah (VA) Speedway in Shenandoah, Virginia for the running of the Virginia 100.

For more information about all three divisions within the ASALMS, please call the home offices in Lexington, Michigan during normal business hours at: 1 (800) 385-2503 or log onto each of the divisions websites.

For the Televised Challenge Division, go to: To get Southern Division information, log in at: and for Northern Division information, go to:
Coors Light 100 Unofficial Results

Pos. Start Car #/Driver Laps Status
1 1 74 Jay Middleton             100 Running
2 6 32 Ryan Carlson              100 Running
3 2 38 Bo Miller-R                   100 Running
4 4 09 John Wes Townley-R  100 Running
5 10 188 David Pollen Jr.-R   100 Running
6 13 119 Dalton Zehr-R         100 Running
7 8 2 James Buescher-R        100 Running
8 15 99 Tony Willis-R             100 Running
9 14 62 Travis Wilson-R         100 Running
10 7 66 Kevin Willis-R            100 Running
11 3 33 Dillon Oliver-R           100 Running
12 12 59 Kyle Martel              100 Running
13 5 7 Landon Cassill             100 Running
14 9 07 Andrew Weldon-R      99 Running
15 16 166 Matt Martin-R         89 Mechanical
16 18 4 Nolan Wilson-R           80 Clutch
17 17 16 Jeff Bedell                55 Mechanical
18 11 94 Jason Miller-R           37 Accident
19 19 9 Eric Wallace-R             2 Brakes
DID NOT START: 91 Doug Smith-R

Lap Leaders: 74 Jay Middleton Pole-100
Cautions: 13

Jay Middleton is joined by Ryan Carlson to his right and third-place Bo Miller to his left in an historic victory lane.
Ryan Carlson's #32 ride.